Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing Video at 300'

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by JimC6, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. JimC6

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I have had my Vision for about 2 months and and have had no issues other than losing video at about 300' I originally thought it was just the area I was in so I recently took it to a couple of open fields with no obstructions and it still loses video connection at +-300'. I still have control of the Phantom so I can just pull back and regain the video feed. Should I just upgrade to the RE700 to get a little more range or could it be something internal on the Phantom causing the low signal. I have tested RTH and it work fine but I am leery of continuing out much farther than the video signal.

    Thanks for any suggestions.

    Jim
     
  2. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Welcome to the forum, Jim. My P2V when I first received it would hold FPV about 1200 feet. 300 feet is very short. An upgrade to the RE-700 should make a big difference. As for why you only get 300 feet we will have to wait for one of the experts to drop by and give some advise.
     
  3. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
  4. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Are you keeping the top flat part of the range extender pointing towards the quad, i left mine pointing towards me once and it kept dropping connection.

    Also is it fully charged.?

    What phone are you using, if android have you tried setting it not to find a better wifi (wifi >settings >auto find.
     
  5. JimC6

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut

    Yes, I have tried moving the flat part to keep it pointed at the quad. The wifi extender is fully charged also.

    This happens on both my iPhone and an Android phone. The fields I am using for testing have no other wifi available. I just reset the wifi and went through the binding procedure again this morning to see if a reset will help. If it stops raining this afternoon I will go test again and do a screen capture of the disconnect.

    Happyflyer, if I could get near 900' I would be excited with this setup. I just didnt want to purchase an RE700 and find out it is not the extender causing the issue.

    Thanks for the responses so far.

    Jim
     
  6. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Totally understood on that. Good reasoning.
    With the RE-700 and several antenna upgrades, I have been out 10,000 feet away and up 500 feet and still had control and FPV. Others have done much better.
    Hope you get it all sorted out.
     
  7. 1st_time_flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    7
    any easy to follow youtube videos on how to install some antenna upgrades that you could share with us?
     
  8. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Check out Simon Newton and Ben7seven7 on YouTube. I know Simon has a few for sure.
     
  9. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles
    I'm having the same issue, fpv cuts out at 300 ft. i binded the extender, scanned the qr code, manipulated antenna position and all that. i would be impressed if i get 1000ft with a stock antenna.its likeI'm getting typical wifi range you get with a home network, nothing further.

    the wifi light on the extender blinks green so its working right?

    i also don't want to upgrade the antenna if its something i can fix
     
  10. JimC6

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    The vendor I purchased this from just sent me an RMA to ship back the RE500. They are shipping me an RE700 :D
    Looking forward to testing this out and seeing if it was the range extender. Already packaged up the return so no flying for a few days. It was 1.6 degrees here this morning so it is a good time to be doing the swap.

    Jim
     
  11. Pogimoto

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm losing fpv feed at 300 feet too.. Drives me nuts when I do waypoints because I have to wait and hear it when it's flying back to reconnect.. Any solutions yet?
     
  12. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles

    is the RE700 better than just modding the antenna or following one of those youtube videos? i hear the Re700 doubles the range
     
  13. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    As far as the specs go yes
    I have one with my p2v plus and can't wait to see how much better it really is for myself(my p2v would cut out and freeze at times and it drives me nuts
     
  14. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    What preview size is everyone using?

    When mine is set to 320 @15 fps I go out to the advertised range or more, if I increase the resolution to 640 @ 15fps I get drop outs and loss of signal much closer.

    I haven't used the RE700 Yet.
     
  15. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
  16. JimC6

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut

    I had mine at the lowest 320x15. I didn't try increasing it as I was only getting 300' at that setting. My RE700 should be here next week to try out.
     
  17. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    I also tried the higher setting and it would act up just a few hundred feet so I will try a lower setting next flight

    I have to say I like the ability to know how much battery life is left in the repeator battery while flying

    It may be a day or two before I can again as the temps have been too cold for comfort
     
  18. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles

    So how did the RE709 turn out as far as FPV range?

    I'm debating on getting one or getting the FPVLR stage 2 kit that claims to get up to 5000ft. I like that the RE700 doesn't require modding and works right away.
     
  19. JimC6

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut

    I sent in my RE500 and the vendor agreed to swap it for the RE700. I don't have the 700 yet so I have not been able to test it out. I also ordered a P2V+ this week so if it gets here before the 700 I will bind it's 700 to the P2V to test.
     
  20. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles

    wow 7200?! thats very impressive. I'm pulling the trigger on the RE700 for sure. that supposedly doubles the wifi range. is the stage 2 you have the pilots side? how was the installation? thank