Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problem with GPS, NAZA upgrade

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Rasputinko, Mar 24, 2017.

  1. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have problem with Phantom (1). My first from second hand a pitiful state. Problem is GPS, that does not work. Dron should flicker during initial use case for green, but only flashes orange. When he joined the Naza assistant and shows me version of naza, and under the filed of GPS is not nothing. Questions I had: that somehow ruled out that the problem is GPS module, or Naza; when it to be tested, it is necessary to have connected to GPS compass, or should the module read without it?
    A more questions to NAZA upgrade. So it is a phantom one, on stickers its version 1.2. NAZA its without marks NAZA M/LITE/V2. It is also the possibility flash to the V2? When I joined the ASSISTENTE, so it was in FW 2.X, and offered the update to 4.06. This is actually already FW what uses V2, or is it still V1 but with the new FW?
     
  2. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Could be the module is bad or the switch in the remote can go bad also. You will have to do a bit of troubleshooting first. It is tough to help you without pictures. Read these to get started:

    GPS issues with Phantom

    GPS not working
     
  3. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Okay so from your video I noticed you did not switch receiver type from PPM to D-BUS. Please do that and let me know what happens.
     
  5. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a video when I switched to d-bus. The transmitter has not connected/paired with receiver.
     
  6. ScouseMouse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Have you owned the P1 for some time, or have you just got it? Has it been crashed at all? If it has it might be worth checking the GPS module itself to see if it has been damaged?
     
  7. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my first. Previous Owner of them had a crash, but said after the GPS had stop working. GPS module visible damage did not.
     
  8. ScouseMouse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    From your video it looks like the switches are working and are seen in flight assistant so unless anybody else gives advice I would think about taking the top shell off to check that the connecting wires from the GPS are plugged into the NAZAM and also peel-away the shielding on the top shell to inspect the ceramic GPS module itself. Sorry I can't be more help!
     
  9. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPS wires is plugged into NAZA, wires are OK. Ceramic plate looks OK. GPS module its not present in NAZAm, if the ceramic plate its broken, or entire modul is false?
     
  10. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    The only conclusion I can come to is that either there is a problem with GPS or not properly plugged in. If plugged in properly it always registers, even if you are connected to NAZA while doing it.
     
  11. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, thanks for response. I try another GPS module.
     
  12. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    dji phantom 2 vision + has the same GPS modul like P1?
     
  13. ScouseMouse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Unless someone else says different, I believe the P1 and P2 GPS modules are the same. You said earlier that you looked at the ceramic antenna underneath. If it is cracked then getting a 4mm thick replacement should do the job although this involves desoldering the original. From what I can gather this is the most common breakage on the GPS side. If it looks OK check that the cable linking the module to the NAZAM is in good condition. Hope this helps
     
  14. Rasputinko

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ceramic plate looks OK. I have a good offer for GPS modul(40euro),but from P2+, and I was not sure if its same. Oki, thanks for reply
     
Loading...