Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A FW update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Grimfever, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Grimfever

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    While my 3rd flight was great, I've noticed that my FW is like 1.11 or something low like that so I'm pretty sure I gotta update it. My question is if I have a spare micro SD card, should I just format that and use it or put it on the card that came with it? I've never done this yet and I wanna know which is easier. The last thing I wanna do is brick my P3A.
     
  2. Stdquad

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC

    Hello Grimfever, go here for FW update. Some pilots don't recommend upgrading do to bugs in the new FW. Up to you.:)

    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-3/download
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    While the latest firmware won't brick your P3, there have been a number of annoying glitches with it and DJI are (we hope) bringing out a replacement soon.
    If your P3 is flying fine, it's probably better to just leave it for now.
     
  4. markarch

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    9
    I vote for leaving it as is. I have not upgraded to the latest and have no issues.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  5. Grimfever

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Thanks I'll just leave it for now
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  6. mcrazyhorse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just updated to 1.2.6 for the PV3P, it did not go very well. The P3 firmware went as predicted completed with success. The RC is not updating errors out the led never turns blue indicating the firmware routine has started, Tried both ways to update still no luck. I reported this to support at dji and they suggest I send it back for repairs. I am very reluctant to send it back I think if I had a newer firmware version I could get it to work. From articles I have read you can't downgrade the firmware you can only update. Don't rush out and change it.
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    It will fly without the upgrade on the controller according to other posts on the forum
     
  8. zzkazu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    Not very logical them asking you to send it back for issues like this. It would really make there life easier if the platform was opened up.