Ideas for sound on Phantom flights

Reaction score
After some "thinking out of the box" ideas. I'm a keen videographer (amateur) and film mainly with my camcorder, family movies. I have my phantom 2 and Gopro with gimbal for extra shots to get a bit of interest and extra perspective into my videos. The sound from the Gopro is not an option. Super loud constant buzz and nothing else doesn't do it for me!

What I have been doing is taking my Phantom shots, then just letting my camcorder record general ambient sound (once the phantom is grounded) then replace the Gopro audio with this. Thing is, although massively improved over the buzz of the Phantom, it can often seem a little disjointed and uninvolved. What else could I do? Many just put their vid to music, which is great for longer Phantom vids, but when I'm just doing a 5 second cut with the rest of my camcorder shots, it's not an option....

Thoughts appreciated.

Download a audio recorder app on your smartphone. Use the smartphone to recorder on the ground while you're flying. Add the audio to your video during post production.

Ambient audio if leveled VERY carefully can really be the way to go. Imagine you were a bird gliding through the air at the altitude you're flying at (ie no buzzing motors or propellers) then imagine what you would hear from that height. It would be very subtle.

Your brain expects distance-relative audio and ambient audio tracks added in post will sound surreal and artificial if not leveled very carefully with this in mind.

I experimented with this making the Maine Coast video and it was terrible on about 10 takes and it seemed either too loud, disjointed or too imperceptible. But I donned the headphones and mixed it down very carefully with the video and I think the result works. It took adding audio track key frames and some painstaking mixing but the results seem natural.

Check out the result here (turn your audio to a decent level):

http://vimeo.com/105542012