Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS Mod and Sunhans Boosters

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ARLockstedt, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. ARLockstedt

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Howdy,
    Was just tossing around the idea of the DBS Mod and Sunhans boosters. Has anyone tried this or is this something that shouldn't be done. I'm new to all this and trying to learn what I can. I Just got in the DBS modded remote and it looks amazing. Just trying to see if I can expand on it at all???
     
  2. 2raaas

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    10
    If you want to expand on it, you need a battery mod first, your going to run out of battery wayyyyy before range with a dbs(never mind a boosted dbs)
     
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  3. 88VMX12

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Idaho
    If I could figure out some way to make my DBS mod work better I would. I can easily go 2 round trips with one battery as far as my DBS mod will take me with line of site and no obsticles. I have sent multiple emails asking if I have something wrong with it and no responce. So with no responce I am guessing it is what it is.
     
  4. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    What range are you getting?
     
  5. Ingsoc75

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    20
    I got the setup (DBS+boosters). It works pretty good.
     
  6. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Pictures please...thanks
     
  7. Rocket_Aus

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    89
    I have the DBS and have boosters on the way looking forward to see the performance.
     
  8. 88VMX12

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Idaho
    Wibble, roughly 9,600' at 400 elev. I have slowly moved the RC around in different directions to make sure I am not pointing the antenna incorrectly and doesn't change it much. I have flown 11,000' however had to go way beyond the 400' altitude.
     
  9. 88VMX12

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Idaho
    for your P3P? pictures and any information on where to get the boosters please
     
  10. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    You don't need the battery mod if you are boosting due to crowded environment. I live where there are a lot of trees, big tall trees so I boosted in order for smoother flights (no video drops). However, now that I've modded the signal I really want to do the battery mod. It is truly addictive.
     
  11. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    That is what I can get standard.
    Have you tried the more channel hack?
     
  12. Ingsoc75

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    20
  13. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just did the hack and I'm using the Sunhans but heavy winds has kept me from flying . I want to try channel 32, people are saying they are getting good distance on it just don't yet know if the Sunhans can use that channel yet. In house test have no problems.
     
  14. Ingsoc75

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've tried the hack on all upper channels and got no benefit.
     
    #14 Ingsoc75, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015
  15. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    Tested mine today and also found channel 24 was the best for me.
     
  16. 88VMX12

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Idaho
    I have not tried the hack, I know nothing about it
     
  17. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I have never needed it but basically some upgrades have reduced the number of channels available. There is a hack to put the channels back. You can choose a different channel in noisy areas to give a cleaner signal. Do a search on here for it.
     
  18. Martin Smith

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida
    Here is a great overview and flight of the Mod kit
     
  19. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    Where did you get your mounting hardware, I like it better than the 3D plastic printed one I have.
     
  20. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry I was not very clear. The metal antenna mount, did you mod that or buy it somewhere?