Atti mode phantom questions

Reaction score
Hi,

I've done some interactions in this great community, but this will be my first post.

I had a question about atti mode, a part of me wants to try to fly in atti mode. But i don't want to risk crashing my expensive phantom 3 professional. i've read that its always good to know how to fly in this mode incase something happens like to much headwind when using return to home, or GPS or compass issues.

I've flown with cheap multicopters, can i expect a behavior like that ? what can i expect ? i know it will drift with wind ect but is it hard to keep the altitude like you want the bird to react, is the phantom fairly stable in atti mode ? will it behave like a regular cheap multicopter without gps, i have lots of experience with that, will the air brake work in atti mode ?

If you can please provide me with more info on that so i could learn (safely) a bit more.

Thanks!

Robin
Belgium
Phantom 3 pro

Your Phantom will fly without the assistance of GPS when in ATTI mode. The biggest differences you'll notice is that it'll drift with the wind and it'll take longer for it to come to a stop. It'll still maintain its altitude per the usual. Just make sure you're above all obstacles when you try it out and you'll be fine.

Last edited:
I had a question about atti mode, a part of me wants to try to fly in atti mode. But i don't want to risk crashing my expensive phantom 3 professional.

what can i expect ? i know it will drift with wind ect but is it hard to keep the altitude like you want the bird to react, is the phantom fairly stable in atti mode?
Atti mode won't cause your Phantom to crash.
In atti mode you still have the gyros, accellerometers and barometer sensors all working - just the GPS is off.
So your Phantom will hold altitude but not horizontal position.
It's a bit like driving on ice - you have no brakes.

It's no big deal and easy to try out.