Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

(After 1.6.8 update) Phantom 3S Weak RC signal problem SOLVED!!!

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Dilan Darshana, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    As you guys know, I was so desperate after 1.6.8 firmware upgrade and I was loosing RC signal within 40m-60m .. But After 1.5 months finally solved it permanently.. Here we go!!!

    In my method, Basically you need to put 1.6.80 firmware to your RC and also you need to put 1.5.70+ to aircraft. so How do we do that?>???

    1. You need upgrade your drone using LATEST DJI go app. ( if you are already in 1.6.8, then downgrade it in to 1.5.7 )
    2. After upgrading to 1.6.8 please close DJI go app, restart the drone and RC connect it, after that Switch off all the things.
    3. Then download and put 1.5.7 firmware bin file to a SD card.
    4. Put the SD card in to the aircraft WITHOUT turning it on.
    5. Then turn on the aircraft WHILE PRESSING RC LINK BUTTON ON THE AIRCRAFT LEFT SIDE BODY.
    6. Hold it on for like 20 seconds and release it.
    7. Then complete firmware upgrading process will start and it will be over within 10-15min as usual..
    8.Then restart the drone.
    9.After all these steps your RC will be stay in 1.6.8 and your aircraft will be 1.5.7+ and DO NOT UPGRADE AGAIN, unless you want the problem again.. LoL...

    Have a flight and PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO COMMENT THE RANGE YOU GOT!!!!!

    PS: And finally thanks you my friend "mpogrebnoy" ( from US ) for showing me that game changing screenshots ..
     
  2. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Doing it right now... Will go for a flight tomorrow and report my range


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    kristvin and Dilan Darshana like this.
  3. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was exactly like you bro.. tried everything and finally found this.. Give it a try.. and for the record I was loosing RC signal NOT the video signal..
     
  4. T Dawg

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, Ab, Canada
    can anyone confirm this?
     
  5. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Mine's been beeping for a good 30 minutes, so I assume I did something wrong. Should I extract the bin file before putting it into the quad?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    yes of course.. you should put only P3C 1.5xxxxxxxx . bin file
     
  7. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    What color should the lights be while updating?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    it should be blink in red and green. and after completing the upgrade it will be solid green
     
  9. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    I got the same result, not sure what I'm doing wrong.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    What is the DJI GO app you using?? i mean the version???
     
  11. No_Fly_Zone

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Where do I download the firmware?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    2.8.3


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. cekabu

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Between #5 and #6 do we need to open the RC and connect to the drone?

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 using Tapatalk
     
  14. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    I second this question


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Stephen Sergeant

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Has anyone done this yet?
    Waiting with baited breath haha
     
  16. unklodie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indonesia
    hmmm.. interesting.

    how far did u manage to fly the drone after doing this?

    tnx, cheers! ;)
     
    #16 unklodie, Jun 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2016
  17. cekabu

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did anybody try?

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 using Tapatalk
     
  18. BaDvs3viL

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    I will try this but not for the reason that everyone is thinking. If by holding the Sync button for 20 Seconds can force a firmware downgrade, then that might have a chance to fix the drones that had issues with the Distance Mod and bricked their bird.
     
  19. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I think they have only bricked the remote,
    and so far the OP is the only one that has been successful?
     
  20. BaDvs3viL

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    no, people have both a bricked bird and controller. We do the mod on both devices.