Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Weak rc signal

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by hugedog897, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ok some stats
    Nearest othere person 500km
    Closest tree about 10 km
    And im at ocean level
    And just had firm wear updated controler and drone
    Done the imu
    Done a rc linked


    I have a p3a
    I turn on the drone then turn on the control with the samsung tablet

    It takes about 5 min for the controler to
    Get a green light to fly from the drone

    Now i fly ut up to about 50mtrs and thefly in a strate line out to about 800mtr
    Then get a weak rc signal and then loss signal all together
    Now the drone returns to home
    But on its return trip i dont have any signal then the drone lands and powers down about 5 min goes by i turn of the controler turn it back on wait 3 or so min and the get a green light to fly

    Can anyone help me because i am lost with what to do next

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  2. nix240z

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    40
    Urban area, trees and wifi will make your flying distance not very far. In my area I can fly about 800-1000 meters with my pro. Get a windsurfer antenna booster and you should be able to almost double your distance.
     
  3. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    If you read my post at the start i clearly state
    500km to the nearest person (house )
    Or wifi

    It dosnt help with why it takes so long for the drone and controler to conect and turn green for flight



    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  4. eaglegoaltender

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    273
    Have you confirmed your antennae's are properly positioned and in working good condition (no cracks or loose)......and that antenna wires on the P3A are connected and in good condition?
    That alone seems to be the biggest reason for poor or lost signal.

     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    The proper power up sequence of radio controller being turned on first, then the drone, app last, should always be followed.
    But, If your Phantom is really taking that long to warm up, (5 minutes is crazy long) you may want to recalibrate your IMU when the drone has been chilled down. Set it outside in the evening, or infront of a cold air conditioner. Then have the Go app up and ready on the IMU calibration page, so as soon as you plug in the battery pack, and turn on the drone, after the initial start up, and the gimbal stops it's motion, start the IMU calibration process.
    A cold IMU calibration has helped many of us reduce that initial warm-up time drastically. When I turn on my RC and power up the drone, by the time I get the app running, it's only a momentary wait, before I get the green light to fly. Home Point has been recognized and recorded, It actually takes longer to connect to 18 satalites than the warm up time.

    RedHotPoker
     
    hugedog897 likes this.
  6. eaglegoaltender

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    273
    I noticed you have done an IMU calibration..........might be worth re-doing it even a couple of more times.......that's if the DJI Go is showing (aircraft/imu warming up). If it is a matter of taking that long for satellite reception - GPS lock for "safe to fly" ........ possibly the location you are in (even though as you stated it was a clear area). Sometimes its a matter of moving just 3 feet away and you get a faster lock.

    Cold IMU calibration is worth the extra time involved to do - cold or at least relative temp to the temps you are flying in and most important on a level surface.

    Good luck.....
     
    hugedog897 likes this.
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Did any one replace antenna for your P3?

    This looks like a case of mismatched antenna or missing antenna.
     
  8. Juno

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Eastern Canada
    I'll sometimes get a weak RC signal warning if I take it straight up to 400' directly overhead, but otherwise I've never had an issue to date. Sometimes upon start-up I'll get the weak RC signal warning even if the controller and the drone are just a few feet apart. A reboot of the drone/controller fixes this.
     
  9. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You will not get that weak signals if you orient RC antennas.
     
  10. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Not sure if there is conection issues
    But i do the same as the video

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  11. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    No have not replaced any antennas
    But thinking for buying a upgrade kit if this dosnt sort its self out soon

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  12. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Same antenna from when i brought it new

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  13. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Is there a way of adding a external antenna to the drone for better reception

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  14. rburkedpq

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    11
    Losing the signal at 800M is one thing. But if the drone doesn't regain signal even as it gets closer to you there sounds to be some other issue. You're not turning off the rc, are you?
     
  15. jeff2432

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    If it were me I would open the shell and check the antenna connection on the board only takes a few minutes
     
    hugedog897 likes this.
  16. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    For doing this, you will have to remove VPS board first.
     
  17. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    No not turning of my rc

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  18. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    I watched on youtube the dbs mod for my quad last night that extends the range
    And i seen the towards the end of the video the guy cuts the rc anteena in half and cuts the 2.5ghz wire of only uses the 5.4 ghz and talks about a slave controler does anyone know what he is talking about


    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  19. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ok did the latest update
    4/7/16 on the drone and rc
    And all fixed now
    Went for a fly
    Got 1200mtr and 250mtr high
    No signal loss
    And its a very congested area with bulk wifi and homes so very happy

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
     
  20. hugedog897

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ok so the new dbs antenna is installed all updates as done imu done and took it for a fly around the neighborhood got 2.6km

    Extremely happy

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk