Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Vision app update issues

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by bobmoss, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Just updated vision app. Now I have no waypoint flying. App worked fine before update.
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    bob I don't do waypoints so not sure what ta tell you but and try and deleting app and reinstalling it .Maybe after deleting rebooting
    your device before reinstalling it . If that didn't help it would seem to me some setting might have changed with the update that messed you up.
    Sorry but that's all I've got . Hope it helps .
    Do let us know if that does anything .
     
  3. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Thanks. I've done that but have not yet had time to test. I will let you know.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Hope that works bob :)
     
  5. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Did not work. Others are telling me to units all the app and install again without the update. However nobody seems to be able to tell me how to download the app without the update great advice if any part body would possibly be able to tell me how you do that everybody keeps telling me to do it but nobody wants to explain how you do that if I try to download the app again it downloads the app with the update already installed them out of the Apple store so I don't know how they're doing what they tell me that they've done to fix the problem
     
  6. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Uninstall, not units. Was using Siri to type this. LOL
     
  7. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I'm not sure I understand you bob . You do know how to uninstall apps from your phone right ? And you say others ?
     
  8. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Yes I know how to uninstall an app. What I do not know, is how to reinstall the app without the most current update to the app. And the others I was refering to was the fact that in the Vision plus forum, there are a few others who have this problem.
    My firmware is the most current and the vision app worked great with that. The other day there was an update for the vision app released. Since that update, if you try to enter ground station on the app. the app crashes. I have yet to find a remedy for this.
    Also notice since the update, range for the wifi seems to be cut in half. Camera feed is cutting out at 600 feet versus the 1200 average before the app update.

    Any suggestions?
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well bob I had to ask cause I wasn't sure if ya did. You would be surprised at how many don't . I have not seen this in the P2V section till you brought it up so I would suggest just holding on till someone else has the same issue in the plus section or see it brought up here that use's that feature .Has to be some !
    As far as going back I have never tried unless you have it backed up on ITunes . Have never tried that but might work .
    I have all updates and have not lost any distance that I can see but I do have mine modded .
    I do find it strange you lost distance . NOT doubting you just find it strange you the only one so far that has said anything .
     
  10. bobmoss

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Went for a test flight tonight after uninstalling then reinstalling the app. Double checked my firmware version as latest, calibrated my compass and went out for a flight. Range was back to normal. So maybe I had some noise in the area I usually do not have. However the vision app still crashes the second you swipe left to enter Ground Station. See below posts in the P2V+ Discussion section.

    iOs app crash with ground station | DJI Phantom Forum

    DJI Vision App Updated... New Version 1.0.52 - IOS | DJI Phantom Forum




    Others are experiencing this as well. Hopy my expensive new hobby doesnt crash from an app glitch. I just will fly myself without groung station. I only used it before to get long reange video. Video outside my wifi range. Im new to the hobby. Bought a P2V on Amazon about 2 months ago. Love the hobby but not yet comfy enough to open up things for upgrades. Id love to upgrade to a long range FPV HD setup, and upgrade the gimbal for a go pro. Id like to make me mods myself, but nervous. Im an 15 year veteran HVAC/R Tech, but not an electronics expert at all. LOL.
     
  11. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Same I'm on bob and IOS 8.4.1
    I will tomorrow try and do a waypoint flight and see if I have the same issue .Like I said those I don't do as I like to be in full control
    but gonna see what happens .
    As far as doing any mods I had never done anything but change the battery's in radio's before I started with these things a little over a year ago and with the stuff in this forum and YT video's I stay in mine as much as I fly it almost .
    But I'm nuts :)
    I have made some mistakes but that's how I have learned and I enjoy it so much I just keep pushing it .
    I will post back in this with what happens when I try bob
     
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Bob .. I just thought about this and tried to open it it my PC room and when I swiped it I get this screen IMG_1351.PNG . Now I didn't try and put anything in it but just wanted to see if my app crashed . It didn't . Might outside tomorrow when I try and fly a little mission but just showing ya what I see .
     
  13. mikegraves1954

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. I see this very quickly and then the app crashes taking me back to the iPhone home screen. I am using a iPhone 6+. It worked without flaw prior to running the app update.
     
  14. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    OK ..well I didn't leave it on very long but will try and use it tomorrow like I told bob but it never crashed on mine . I was inside with no sats though .
     
  15. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    This is in 2 sections and if you haven't seen the other than here's the deal. When I took that screen shot I was inside with 0 sats . I went out later and tried with sats and the same issue as everyone else . The other thread is in P2V . .
    Please post about this issue here DJI Vision App | DJI Phantom Forum so we can just look in one spot .
     
  16. ronbo

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've had the same problem since downloading 1.0.52. Someone on the Discussion section suggested downloading the latest iOS 9 on my iPhone 6+.
    Initially I was able to swipe to GS and, in fact, layed down a few waypoints but it suddenly crashed to home screen.

    Tried deleting and installing the DJI Vision app as well as the Goggle map app all to no avail.

    Still broken!
     
  17. SPAWN

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this the reason why i can't find the DJI Vision app on andriod store?
     
  18. wormgrunter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow, had the same problem, when I updated! Had to Uninstall and reinstall 3x before it worked. Then android pushed through lollipop, that didn't help. But I do have my ground station and can set waypoints, but the altitude set for waypoints is still screwy, gotta double tap the waypoint now to get a altitude input.