Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

using a nexus 7

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by 1t-bag, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. 1t-bag

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, i'm just about to make the investment in a vision 2 but am wondering if anyone has used a nexus 7 to run the app. When I tried to load it, it said it was not compatible. If I can't use it I'll have to buy an old smartphone, any suggestions?
     
  2. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    I have the current nexus 7 and it works flawlessly with the phantom vision 2 including the GPS and compas direction. Now I have to make a mount for it to hold on the controller
     
  3. 1t-bag

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for your reply, it may be that The version i'm using (2012) only has wifi, and not 3g/4g capability. would that make the difference?
     
  4. GlowFET

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    The problem with the old Nexus 7 (2012) seems to be that is does not have GPS or the accelerometers needed for the app to be compatible.
    I found this out because I have several Nexus pads that I use for HTPC and other things. The good news is my Nexus 10 works great and has HDMI out for future FPV.
    Hope this helps.
     
  5. 1t-bag

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked a couple of sites and downloaded AndroSensor, this seems to indicate that I have a selection of sensors working including Accelerometer, Gravity, Linear Acceleration,Gyroscope, Light, Magnetic Field and Orientation. I then turned Location Mode to Device Only, walked out of range of the Wifi and it reported 2 satellites - this means I have GPS? I'm not sure what to do next as I've not managed to get any response from DJI yet.
     
  6. IAP

    IAP

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the latest Nexus 7 and lovin it! Just the right size.

    The backlight has enough punch to show the video feed under direct sunlight. No need for a shade box.

    I hot melted the lid from small Systema fridge container to the back of the Nexus 7 and the Phanton remote clips on to that securely.
     
  7. 1t-bag

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's exactly what I have in mind if my nexus will co-operate. Any chance of a photo?
     
  8. IAP

    IAP

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, I will post a photo tonight (in about 8hrs from now).

    With enough force you can remove the lid from the Nexus and it leaves no marks or blemishes. I wouldnt recommend
    this solution if you plan to get really rough with the remote setup, the mount may fail.
    But I ride with it in my backpack for 100's of kilometres and its all good.