Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

[TOOL][WIN] Offline TXT FlightRecord to CSV Converter

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ferraript, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    @flyNfrank, no, I don't use Dashware, maybe this is the problem :)
    from my point of view, there are so many columns in the output, that the file is very large and messy, opening it and processing in Excel takes long time and when user wants to find only a few columns he is interested in, it takes long time too
    this is the reason why I'm so reluctant if somebody wants new column, especially if there already is (almost) same column in the output
    one idea just came to my mind, maybe the solution would be to create another tool, especially for Dashware users
    this original version would contain only "text" columns, all RAW values, maximums, totals could be removed
    and new version would contain those RAW values and any other values you need for Dashware
    what do you think of that?
    let me know and I will think about it...

    about imperial converter
    I personally don't need it as I use metric system, but I know many people use imperial system
    I think it could be done, but at the moment I'm not sure, what system is used in TXT logs - I mean, is it always metric system?
    for example, if user set app to imperial units, won't log contain values in imperial units too?
    because then I wouldn't be able to find out units and correctly convert them
     
  2. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    there is no such parameter
    and answer is written on their site: "It calculates signal strength based on the connection to the remote - it searches for signal loss based on minor signal interruptions"
    so they count in 30-seconds intervals, how many logs didn't come from Phantom to RC (and app)
     
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I know a decent amount about using dashware but,.....I do not classify myself as a expert or a guru as I do a few others. In my opinion it's @Fdnyfish and @Luap that are the super pro's when it comes to dashware and P3 flight logs. Those 2 would be able to help you by making sure whatever dashware project you were working on got completed right the 1st time.

    If a imperial converter could be a simple plug-in then it wouldn't be so bad.
     
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    When I update the converter it will NOT save. It keeps returning back to the same value and my gauges stay messed up due to this odd formula. Is there a fix for this not saving issue?
     
  5. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I have stopped interest in this converter, as it does not work correctly with iOS or my inspire, but it is great work and useful for the few it can help
     
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    That's understandable. When people don't respond to questions when they are asked, you'll end up in a situation such as this. I asked you a couple of questions on your website Frank and for whatever your reason you don't respond. You sent me PM here with a question and I responded right away. I'm not the one who has ignored your post here, his screen name is @ferraript. The fact of the matter is, everything in this subject, is free. But regardless of either situation, nobody likes being ignored.
     
    #106 flyNfrank, Mar 29, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  7. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Frank, not for nothing, but you come off being very pushey. I asked the creator of this tool a few questions, he answered, and I moved on. You seem to want everyone to do custom work for you, and when they explain why it's not good for everyone as a whole, you bash them.

    You won't have access any longer to my website.
     
  8. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Pot-Kettle-Black.....Frank D. The developer asked request if anyone had any, and if they did he would consider doing them. All I tried to do was get these Converter's to co-exist with one another. The developer and I had a misunderstanding about decimal placement, and nothing more. If you remember right, I sent you a invite to this setup in hopes that you would chime in and help if something wasn't being conveyed correctly. It seems others pointed things out and in turn helped you based on your responses in this thread.

    Maybe if you have spoken up and got yourself in a predicament like I did with the developer, then maybe you have something that works you and your Inspire. I'm not positive but I believe the developer said this was for the P3A & P3P.

    You obviously have taken everything the wrong way. Shutting my account off on your website is your business. I wish you all the best. Have a nice day.
     
  9. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    To be clear, I have no issues whatsoever with @ferraript . I was just saying that I was bowing out of the conversation as his tool does not work for me with an inspire. His work is great like I stated in my earlier post, but I'm not gonna pressure him to do something he does not want to do.
     
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    So whats wrong with getting a offline converter setup that works with dashware? The benefit of that reaches out to a lot of people.
     
  11. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    I just went through the whole topic and also our conversations, but I never wrote I didn't want to do it
    actually, in recent updates, I fixed the values you found out being wrong (those that I was able to fix), I also added battery voltage of cells 5 and 6 for Inspire and I did some modifications so my converter works better with iOS too
    but until now nobody had offered to help me with modifications for Inspire and I don't have the Inspire so I am not able to do it just by myself alone
     
  12. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    if somebody wants the option for those imperial units, let me know what units should I use for all important columns (distance, speed, altitude, ...)
    or everything is in feet and feet per second?
     
  13. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    If your looking for inspire txt files, I'd be glad to provide them. I will download your latest version and run it again for compatibility
     
  14. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    thanks, Frank
    you never let me know, did you have any success with your TXT logs on another converters? Is there any that works fine?
     
  15. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I had success with HealthyDrones and DJI Log Converter

    Just downloaded your latest converter and rows E&G have the same values.

    Here are a few of my inspire TXT files for you to run on your own.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    BTW, no need to make a DASHWARE Version of the converter (IMHO), as users can convert any metric numbers to Imperial numbers thru dashware.
     
    AchillesPDX likes this.
  17. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    ok thank you, I'll look into it
    I suppose all logs come from iOS app, right?
     
  18. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    yes all logs from using DJIGO and iOS.

    And as I said earlier, the only issues I see are the rows E&G have the same values. E should be current and G furthest. So G is correct but E is Wrong (in my situation)
     
  19. AchillesPDX

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    I completely agree with this. There's no sense in adding additional columns for imperial units when you can simply do the conversion in Dashware.

    I was working on a Dashware profile a couple weeks back but got sidetracked - I can finish it up and post it here for people if it would help anyone.
     
  20. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    not everybody uses Dashware
    it is meant for people who look only into CSV file, so they would see those values in imperial units
     
Loading...