Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3p remote update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FlyinSturgeon, Jan 7, 2016.

  1. FlyinSturgeon

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason I am having a hard time updating the remote, I'm not sure what's wrong, the aircraft updated just fine, any suggestions?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,826
    Likes Received:
    5,543
    Location:
    US
    Which version is installed on the remote controller right now? What exactly doesn't seem to be working?
     
  3. FlyinSturgeon

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure what version the remote has, it's telling me there is an update so I downloaded the latest one. The air craft was a success on updating, but no luck with the remote.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,826
    Likes Received:
    5,543
    Location:
    US
    Check the About section in DJI GO. It'll show the current RC version there.
     
  5. FlyinSturgeon

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.1.8 is the remote version
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,826
    Likes Received:
    5,543
    Location:
    US
    You'll need to install firmware version 1.3.2 first. After that, you can jump right to the latest version. If needed, you can find detailed firmware installation instructions here.
     
  7. Flack

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK, North West
    Hi my remote needs an update according to the Dji Go app, It has App 2.50 Firmware 1.6.40 I tried updating the remote through the app but it wont download anything, so I found your post above and followed that because my remote was lower, so I used the 1.3.20+ bin file and that worked through the usb stick method, so now I have RC 1.3.20+ but it still will not let me update the RC.

    Any ideas guys.

    Flack
     
  8. Arcangel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same problem, drone uodated fine but the app kept telling me to update my RC so i grabbed the 1.3.20 update put it on a usb and updated that way, then used the dji goapp to do the final update to the latest one


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Flack

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK, North West
    Yeah I tried that but it still wont let me update any further, it just does nothing when I insert the card.

    Flack
     
  10. Arcangel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you tried resetting the RC?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Arcangel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    [​IMG]

    Try this...thats how i solved my problem.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Flack

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK, North West
    Thanks bud tried that and still no joy, does the bird have to be on the same firmware ?

    Flack
     
  13. Flack

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK, North West
    Well I have tried everything I can, I even dropped the bird back to Firmware 1.5 and still the RC will not update to 1.5, I am open to any suggestions now please.

    Flack
     
  14. srcg

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    BAD usb cable


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Flack

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK, North West
    Ok after reading through pages of posts I found on another site that a member had to enable USb debugging mode on the Nvida Shield to get his update to work through the app, I did this and now my RC is up to date .. What a fiasco, but at least I learnt something..

    Flack
     
  16. srcg

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are now worthy of flight,


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. clamps

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I've got a brand new P3P. I'm trying to get everything updated. The aircraft updated fine up to 1.5, but the remote will not update using SD card or though the app. Here's where I'm at: [​IMG]

    Please help with any suggestions.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,826
    Likes Received:
    5,543
    Location:
    US
    clamps, you'll need to install 1.3.2 on the remote controller before installing something newer.
     
    #18 msinger, Feb 11, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
  19. clamps

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did try to install 1.3.5 also and it wouldn't start updating on the remote controller. I tried the sd card, reformatted, flash drive, sub cable-tether method and none of it would start on the RC


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. clamps

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    **Usb cable tether method


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app