Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P firmware update, limp gimbal, flashing red battery light

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Wheat, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. Wheat

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    OK so I go to upgrade to 1.7.0060, put it on the SD card, P3P going through the normal upgrade process and taking a long time as usual. I go out to find some Easter Eggs outside, come in, and the upgrade is done, flashing green light, all good. I upgrade the controller from the app, all good. I go outside and I cannot get an image. I can connect and start the motors but no video signal. I notice the gimbal is limp. I reboot the bird and see if that helps, nothing, same issue. I noticed when I tried to power down the drone I get a flashing red light on the battery and a delay when I shut down. I have not seen this before. I have tried using other batteries, same issue. I have tried to do the firmware upgrade again but I get “The firmware on the SD card is identical….” Tried rebooting several times, tried upgrading firmware several times. I have uploaded the videos here of the bootup and the shut down process.

    I am stumped as to what is the issue. Can anyone help? I have tried to downgrade the firmware version by forcing a firmware upgrade but that is not working as well. Take a look at the videos and let me know if anyone has seen this before.

    Startup:


    Shutdown


    Thank you,
     
  2. dumberlin

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem after this firmware upgrade. When i try to install it again it shows in the detaillog that devices 8 and 15 can t be found..... Any ideas ??
     
  3. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    That's really odd, sorry man. Can you roll back to 1.6?
     
  4. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    The answer is simple from my other posts, never ever upgrade your firmware, your fpv will shut down.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. steven.j

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Power down Phantom, Remove SD card, Restart.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Wheat

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    I have tried to roll back but it has not been working.
     
  7. Wheat

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    I have tried rebooting several times, with the SD card, without, with the firmware on the card, with 1.6 on the card, forced firmware install with 1.6 and I have not had anything work.
     
  8. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    This is not good. I hope you find the solution matey.
     
  9. Wreck_NZ

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've got the exact same issue with my P3P after upgrading to 1.7 this week. Have been running without problems for a year on 1.4. Can't find any way to downgrade. Have tried reseating all the cables to the gibmal but that didn't help either. How can a firmware update screw things so bad!
     
  10. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    It's strange how some have had these issues and others it works great. I updated without an issue with it taking but I have had some glitchy stuff go on while flying that I never had with 1.6


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    shockwave199 likes this.
  11. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,044
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Exactly, I never faced any issue during update, fingers crossed.

    It looks people miss out certain steps or we follow undocumented steps. No idea, I m worried and concerned. Logically installer should check the prerequisites and warn for any wrong steps/ missing step.Or hardware differences are causing such issues?

    General instructions for A/C FW completion are that it starts making different sounds. I never could hear the difference or didn't care for the difference, I always waited for the gimbal LED to turn solid green and then switched off battery. This worked always.
     
    #11 alokbhargava, Mar 30, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  12. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Such as?
     
  13. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    Lol, a couple of compass errors, with a reduction of propulsion. Every thing come back to life, but it's in an area I frequent and have never run into that issue before. I might just be a paranoid update kind of person also, but it's like hearing a new noise in your vehicle. Always wondering what the f is going on now..


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. kdrak

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    27
    another victim here !!!!
     
  15. kdrak

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    27
    I thought that my gimbal connection cable was faulty after receiving 'NO SiNGAL'
     
  16. maskotd

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing here, also changed ribbon , no pic , Says gimbal gyro problem and don't know what to do .....


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. kdrak

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    27
    did you try to downgrade to 1.6 ?
     
  18. maskotd

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to bed, I will try to tomorrow, thanks though....


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. maskotd

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had 1.5.30+ ??


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. kdrak

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    27
    try to downgrade to 1.6 . you cannot downgrade to versions down

    this is issue entails the upgrade to 1.7. So for the solution downgrade to 1.6