Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A Range Issue

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by SmithLaw, Feb 10, 2016.

  1. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read post from others about this who seem to have figured out what their issues were. However, I cannot seem to figure out what is going wrong for me. I got a P3S for Christmas and after a week I sent it back for the P3A because I wanted more range. However, since I have had my Phantom 3 Advanced my range is usually less than 2000 feet. I have done what everyone says about positioning the antennas correctly and I have also purchased a windsurfer range extender that did not seem to help either. This is extremely frustrating and I am hoping someone can give me some advice. Thanks in advance!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone? Anyone? :( :(
     
  3. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    If the Windsurfer didn't help, my guess is you are flying in an area of high interference. To get really long ranges you also need clean line of sight. Any tree or building in the way will seriously cut the range.

    When I fly in town I get around 2000 feet thanks to all the WiFi routers in peoples houses. When I fly out in the desert miles from anyone I can get 3 miles.
     
    dirtybum, ScatSpeak and Bigdz like this.
  4. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. So if I am flying it in a downtown area (mostly commercial), the wifi routers will seriously cause that much interference? I have seen videos of a P3 in New York fly over the river and take video of the city and not have range issues. Mine would probably have dropped about halfway across the water. Also, I took it to my dad's where he owns over 600 acres of fields and wooded area. I was in the middle of a field and I think the most I got was around 3500 ft.
     
  5. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    3500 ft in a wooded area is good performance. If you want to go the distance, fly over water.
     
  6. redonk

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    NY
    Have you tried disabling the wifi of your mobile device or tablet while flying to see if it might be causing interference? I have never had any issue with my tablets wifi causing interference but might be worth a shot to try.
     
  7. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    Yes. Open desert is next best. Clean line of sight is SO important. Trees eat radio signals for lunch and WiFi routers are blasting out competing signals that to the P3 is just noise. And when that noise is right below the P3 while your transmitter is a mile away you can't compete.
     
  8. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have actually tried that (by mistake). Last week when I was flying I had the wifi off and had the iPad in airplane mode by mistake. I later thought that may have caused me problems but then when I flew today I realized it did not change.
     
  9. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I understand that if I am in trees, or under trees that the trees can affect the range considerably. But, what if I am in an area approximately the size of 1-2 football fields, with trees on all sides. With enough altitude, in my opinion, the trees should not be a problem. Am I completely wrong in this?
     
  10. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Being in a clearing surrounded by trees won't matter when you fly away. Your altitude is most important for maintaining a clear LOS. If you are out 3,000+ ft. Your P3 will become lower on the horizon and most likely behind the trees.
     
    mikecorn1 likes this.
  11. Updraftjoe

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I periodically turn my phantom around and look back at my take off point to see if I still have line of sight. If I still have a clear line to where I took off from, I can keep going. Trees kill signal right away.
     
  12. dragonmuzz

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    andover
    yeah i agree with all above about trees,
    from my back yard i get about 3000 feet because im in a little valley surrounded by trees .out away from my village flying across open fields ive had 11500 feet still with full signals so would have gone a lot further easily .i only turned round because it was windy.
    only mod is a windsurfer
    this is in UK so thats with the low power CE mode too.....god i wish we had FCC....
     
  13. Solar Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Try the 32 channel hack. Pick a clear channel, without traffic on either side of it from the list, and try again. WiFi routers have 11 channels to choose from. With 32 available to you, there will most likely be a clear range to use.

    SD
     
  14. SmithLaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try the 32 channel hack. That was actually on my "to-do" list for today. Thanks guys.
     
  15. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    82
    Try this: DJI Forum|[DJI GO Tutorial] Video Downlink Settings
    And pay special attention to the section regarding channels.

    I was getting kind of crappy distance, too. But I now found an isolated spot and was able to fly well over 2 1/2 miles without loss of control. FPV sort of waned on and off, but for the most part, I had 4 out of 5 bars for the image, and 5 bars for the control. I was using windsurfers, BTW.
     
  16. mikecorn1

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Richwood, TX
    Where do you find this 32 channel hack instructions?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    More channels hack
     
    mikecorn1 likes this.