Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

OSD on the FC40... and DJI said it couldn't be done

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by IflyinWY, Dec 21, 2014.

  1. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play

    Attached Files:

  2. PsychopathRC

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, England
    Yeah I've seen tutorials on Youtube. Thought this was known. Basically you can't get it with the FC40 camera. But you can with a GoPro or Monitor ect.
     
  3. wattage

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    But this one's running off the Naza and using the Naza GPS puck for telemetry. Nice little unit, may have to get one.
     
  4. PsychopathRC

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, England
    That's what I saw on Youtube, lol (I think)

    On second thoughts, maybe not. However I always thought you could get it, but just not though the FC40 camera, as that stands alone. If you could get it on the Phantom V1.1.1, you could get it here as that's what it is basically.
     
  5. gabimaor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you please put the link to the youtube video you saw?
    i have ordered a mini iosd and a pmu and thinking about canceling them and using this part instead.
    can anyone confirm this work?
     
  6. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks IflyinWY! Found this item random on ebay, hope it does what is says! :D

    PsychopathRC: Please post youtube link for tutorial?

    I hope the first person to receive this OSD chip give us some feedback.. :)

    Oyvind
     
  7. wattage

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    You've always been able to add a 3rd party OSD to any Phantom but that involves getting power to it and installing its own additional GPS receiver to give it its telemetry. This new one just plugs inline with no additional components required.
     
  8. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    I'm back from my holiday and wondering what's up on this.

    Anyone want to say Yea or PooP?

    Thanks

    Hey wattage, can I borrow part of your brain for a few weeks??? ;) If I knew then what you know now... or something like that.
     
  9. IIVII

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    The Empty Quarter
    dtitus6297 likes this.
  10. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
  11. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    It is another option, but I prefer to avoid soldering and just stick with plug and play.
     
  12. IIVII

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    The Empty Quarter

    this's the one im using :

    http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/minimosd.html

    btw. if u want something like plug n play this isn't for u :)


    here's a review of the GoodLuckBuy N1 OSD :

    http://youtu.be/GfKH7oyq7ak
     
  13. gabimaor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    too bad all the menu is in Chinese
     
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    What? You didn't take Chinese speed reading in high school? :lol: :lol:

    Neither did I. I started watching the review and cracked up, big time. It makes me wonder if DJI is involved in the making of the video.

    Thanks IIVII for keeping a watchful eye on us. I don't know about the rest of us, but I am catching on. :D
     
  15. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    I like the part in the video where he went to his local Chinese restaurant to get them to translate the menu.
    I always wanted to learn a second language ,mabey this and a copy of Roseta Stone would help. :lol:
     
  16. gabimaor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did anyone received his yet?
     
  17. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play

    Still waiting on mine.
    We have a Chinese restaurant here. Do we really have to resort to that for a translation? They don't even sell beer... :cry:
     
  18. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
  19. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interested to read the outcome. I'm hovering over the buy button right now!
     
  20. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally!

    Recieved my OSD module today! :D Might even get to test it out tonight!

    [​IMG]