Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My Waypoints was limited by 1000 ft distance

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by AAC, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Early this morning when practice the Go Home control at the lake side, I found there was a big circle surrounding the red PV2+ aircraft icon on my cell phone map.
    It limited my distance to the boundary of the circle which was 1000 ft radius. I had to set my waypoints within this circle. Actually, the max radius is 5249 ft as default, I didn't make any change.
    Why I got this circle radius restriction in the location ? It never happens before in my previous Ground station fly.
     
  2. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    The circle is supposed to represent 500 meter radius... it's been there on mine ever since this whole thing started... it was advertised that way... it's in the manual that way... it's in the instructional youtube ideas that way... there are multiple posts here about it being that way...

    Your the first one I've seen saying "it wasn't that way" in your previous flights...
     
  3. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess the red circle may means restricted zone is outside the circle. I can only fly in the circle.
    However, the local airport is far from the lake.... no idea.
     
  4. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    It has nothing to do with airports... you are talking about waypoint flying with the DJI Vision app right?

    It is always like that... no matter where you are... that is the thing that people are complaining about...
     
  5. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really ? I didn't find the red circle in other locations under Waypoint flying setting.
    How comes ?
     
  6. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Don't know ... hence , my first reply... With mine it is always there ... and others are complaining about it as well...

    You said "red circle" ... mine is blue circle ... others say blue circle as well... 500 meter radius limit
     
  7. Nsrwholesale

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    So you can not change a setting to go beyond 500 meters???
     
  8. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    I thought I read 3km when it was first released... is 5km new or has it been that way since day one?
     
  9. M.Tigelaar

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It has been that way since day one ;)
     
  10. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I'm confused.
    I didn't get the red color shaded circle on the map. It's only a red outline circle.
    I could fly within this circle (1000 ft radius) with GPS waypoints set up but not one inch outside the circle. I guess the red outline circle is different with NO FLY ZONE. The day before, my GPS waypoints flying never saw this circle. In fact, the lake I wanted to fly over is around 2000 ft from side to side. There were swan, duck swimming on, should be very beautiful but blocked by this unknown circle.