My nightmare with three broken phantom 2's?

Reaction score
So I bought a Phantom 1...

I feel like I got pretty good at flying it... see an example of what I've filmed with it:

http://pro-creative.com/Aerial_Video_Filming.html

I only share this so you know I am not a total novice who is making a rookie mistake.

So I eventually broke the Phantom 1, trying to solder upgraded motors on, (another long story) so I decided to take the next step and purchase the Phantom 2.

I brought it through a dealer on Amazon - CitiDrone, who has been AMAZINGLY helpful so far. Can't say enough good things about Sam who's been helping me.

Here's the problem:

I received the P2, took it to the field in my back yard where I had flown the P1 for months with no issues and went through all the standard things... calibrated the compass, waited for the flashing green lights to get a lock on the several Satelites. I think I counted 12 or more. Green light starts flashing, so I took off.

I immediately had a MUCH different experience than the P1... my P1 would hover nice and tight... a feet or so of drift either way, but generally stayed at the same altitude and left/right position.

However, this new P2 would sway 20-30 feet!! It would go up and down without me telling it to... and eventually would be up high, doing OK... then suddenly plummet to the ground without me touching the controls.

Something seriously wrong right? Obvious product defect, right?

So Sam at Citi Drone told me to ship it back and he'd replace it.