Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Just to clarify..

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by brianb87, Sep 8, 2015.

  1. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I can tinker around with my P3A in my garage on Atti mode, correct?
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Yes, if its big enough and/or you are good enough. Sure.
    Also, there will be debris flying around so don't be surprised when that happens!
     
  3. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ok thanks
     
  4. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    You'll need to be in P-Mode though if you want to utilize VPS.
     
  5. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Then I'm sure to get interference, correct? Just messing with camera settings and a few other things. Not looking to fly, but I do need to get it in the air. Otherwise I would remove the props and do it inside where it's nice and dry at the moment
     
  6. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    You have to be in GPS mode to use VPS? That can't be right...

    VPS is for indoor use (when GPS isn't present). Am I missing something?
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    It's not a good idea unless you have a 10-car garage and it's empty. Fly outside :)
     
  8. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I would share a video someone posted on FB, but it's not mine. With my experience though I think I'll stick to your advice and fly outside tomorrow.
     
  9. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    He posted it on YouTube



    I'm not trying to create a video.. Like I said adjust settings and what not.

    EDIT: video won't play for me on here.. Hope it's sunny tomorrow. I'll just wait.
     
  10. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    If you re-read the manual's description of the modes, it is specific that Atti Mode doesn't use GPS nor VPS. Just the barometer.
     
  11. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    Thanks. I had no idea. Then again, I have no intention of flying indoors. What are the best settings for indoor flight? I assume P mode with RTH set to hover. If you have RTH set above the ceiling you'd have a real problem if you lost signal...

     
  12. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Lol.. Good point !
     
  13. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Yes, that's why I only did it a couple times and for a very short time. I just kept it in P-Mode. The first time I did Auto Takeoff and the last time I manually took off. Horrendous wind for sure.