Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Follow Me Feature

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jim Gilliland, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. Jim Gilliland

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello everyone,
    I have not used the follow me feature on my Phantom 3 Pro in about a year and went to use it last week and when I changed flight modes to select the selection screen would not come up. I am using firmware version 1.9.60. Does anyone have a suggestion or has the feature ben dropped? Thanks
     
  2. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Have you enabled intelligent flight controls in the Go app? Once enabled switch your mode switch to F. You must have some altitude when turning on multiple flight modes.
     
  3. Jim Gilliland

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought it was enabled but I will check tomorrow and check for sure.
    Thanks
    Jim
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    The feature has been changed, but not dropped. It's a more manual process now. You can access it like this:

    DJI-GO-IOC-Menu-P3.png
     
  5. Mozzie67

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Moonee beach
    I used the POI this afternoon on my P3A....
    Can't seem to get the follow me yet!!! Keep getting week satellite message even on 17 sats ...
    Using an iPad mini 2 ...keep on tryin...
     
  6. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Your IPad mini must have GPS in order for follow me to work.
     
  7. Mozzie67

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Moonee beach
    Bugger !!! Is was trying to show my boys how it would follow me...
    They took the piss out of me when it just sat there..I was told to get a life and get real..kids they always know....Old dad was just trying to prove he new something...
     
  8. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    Use your phone for that purpose and show it to them. It works great.
     
  9. Mozzie67

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Moonee beach
    Will do...have a 6s..
    Hope that will work
    There jaws will drop seeing it follow me....ill tell them then to go get a life..
     
    acherman likes this.
  10. Jim Gilliland

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I tried to get orbit and follow me to work Tuesday and again today with no success. I have checked both days and Multiple flight modes is active and I am flying with my iPhone 6 using IOS10. When I get in the air I switch to ATT mode and ATT is active but no options for orbit or follow me. I have also tried the F mode but nothing. I also have tried it and different altitudes up to 150 feet. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  11. Mozzie67

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Moonee beach
    Well jim I switched from my iPad to iPhone 6s made sure my phone had locations on,dji go had intelligent flight on went up 15 mths I had to have 15+ sats and follow me works perfect!!!! Poi also works had it circling me 6 mts of the ground you can adjust speed and direction...
    Persist a little more you will get it...
     
    acherman likes this.