First Time Using a Drone

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am purchasing my first drone, specifically the P3A. I have no experience flying a drone, but having been doing a lot of research via YouTube and on this website. Is there anything I should know specifically as a first time user? If there is any advice I would greatly appreciate it. I have seen some horror stories on some threads, and I am HOPING this will not happen to me haha..

Hello all,

I am purchasing my first drone, specifically the P3A. I have no experience flying a drone, but having been doing a lot of research via YouTube and on this website. Is there anything I should know specifically as a first time user? If there is any advice I would greatly appreciate it. I have seen some horror stories on some threads, and I am HOPING this will not happen to me haha..
The P3A is a really good machine and ideal to learn on as well for serious use later.
When you get it you'll find that it's much easier to fly than you imagine.
It takes about 5 minutes to learn - but a lot of practice and experience to become proficient.
Don't let the simplicity make you get too adventurous too early.
There are many things that can go wrong and you need to understand what they are and how to make sure they don't happen to you.

Do your early flights in a large open area, well away from trees, buildings and obstacles.
Be afraid, very afraid of trees, buildings etc. They are involved in most incidents.

Read up on return to home procedures, practise using RTH and cancelling it so you understand how it works and how you can resume control in an RTH situation.

Reactions: Jonathan Grantham
Hello all,

Welcome to the forum. Its good to hear that you've already been reading about Phantoms. You should have a great head start.