Drone aerial footage business?

Reaction score
Just wondering how easy it is for someone with a drone to offer aerial photography to businesses or people. Like maybe an event, wedding, real estate, etc. And how would you charge someone for aerial photage? Like do you charge by the time you spend or do you charge by the amount of video/pics you get?

I'm just starting out so I'm learning how to fly my DJI Phantom 3 Standard first. Then once I feel I get the hang of it and figure how to record footage, how much memory I need, how to transfer them, then would wanna consider doing it as a side business. Nothing crazy serious, but something like an uber where it's not so complicated to get started. Plus I would rather get paid to fly a drone than drive around all day, plus the risk is much lower because the worst that can happens is I lose a $700 drone, which is much better than getting into a bad accident in a car.

But can me with just a DJI Standard offer any kind of service, like something super cheap compared to those who may charge a premium to use the large professional drones with RED cameras on them? I am sure the Standard would be enough to have clear crisp footage that doesn't need a professional to operate. At least that way the drone can pay for itself. Wouldn't mind charging something dirt cheap like $30-50 for a few hours, or maybe trade. I may do it for free if it's a charity event and donate my time.

I also have a friend who is a rising EDM artist and he does plenty of outdoor festival events with large crowds who show up to his sets. I would offer him drone footage of his sets if he would take me backstage, and it would be a fun experience to fly over a bunch of people. Not sure if an artist can just take a buddy with a drone or if I would have to go through event organizers to be allowed to fly the thing over a huge crowd like this:

Last edited:
How is it illegal? Is there some kind of law that states drones footage can't be bartered?