Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Are there first person viewing options for the P3S?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Morro Man, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. Morro Man

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
    What are the best options for using FPV goggles with the standard. Everything I see is for advanced and above. I have an iPhone 6 S Plus.

    Thanks
    Brandon


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Morro Man

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
  3. mrcrane2u

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    sarasota
    Thats what you need
     
  4. Morro Man

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
    Anyone here use goggles with their Standard? Anyone?
     
  5. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    From my understanding, you need a adv/pro model. The goggles need an HDMI signal to work and since the P3S does not have a USB port (that's the part that needs upgraded to the HDMI port), end of story. As far as I understand it.
     
    Morro Man likes this.
  6. Morro Man

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks. That's how I understand it as well. I was just wondering if there was a way around it.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. mrcrane2u

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    sarasota
    Maybe you could try getting nvidia shield not sure but it does have a hdmi out put
     
  8. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    I'm in the same boat as you, I'd like to try the FPV goggles too. Like they say, "if I knew then what I know now." I'd would have spent the extra cash and bought the P3A. With the lightbridge, RC @ 2.4 GHz, and double the GPS sat. and this. Not to mention NO wifi firmware update, update firmware over the air ??
     
    #8 WilliamM, Jun 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2016
  9. Morro Man

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
    I ended up just throwing a black shirt over my head and the remote, just so I could see the screen


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. oviking99

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to get "3D FPV - DJI Phantom + Inspire" on my Blu Android phone and Blitzwolf goggles working. It kept crashing and I had to remove the goggles to restart the app, that was a pain. They have a more reliable version 2 for IOS that supposedly works good. Not much for OSD on the version 1 though, number of GPS satellites and voltage. Link below;

    Visual Vertigo's FPV apps (FPV and 3D FPV)
     
    #10 oviking99, Jun 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2016
  11. Stephen Sergeant

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Use Litchi and a pair of cheap goggles you put your phone inside.
    Job done :)
     
  12. Ojcze Nasz

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    157
    I bought "google cardboard box" on ebay which is actually plastic. I paid about 12-14 euro, really cheap considering it also has adjustable lenses.
    Using latest version Litchi 1.9.0 in VR mode. On an Iphone 5S .
    Works just great. You see a nice quality in depth FPV image and OSD with basic info, Altitude , speed, distance, battery etc...
    (I wish the iphone battery lasted bit longer,)



    IMG_0072.JPG IMG_0073.JPG
     
    Morro Man likes this.
  13. yojo182

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    5
    There is a cardboard version but the plastic ones are nicer. I run a lightning to hdmi cord off my iPhone 5s which allows me to hook up to a separate monitor allowing my client to be fpv while I fly by monitor.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. BaDvs3viL

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am using a Samsung S6 Edge with Samsung Gear VR. I used 3 apps so far and they each work OK. I used Drone VR+, Litchi and 3D FPV.
     
  15. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    So if I'm getting this now, if your using the Litchi app which uploads the full flight to the drone. You can just sit back and enjoy the show. But if your using the Go app and would be in control yourself, then the HDMI cord has to go the controller, which isn't happening with the standard. Or can you still use the Go app with goggles since the device (smartphone) is connected to the control via wifi on the P3S. This is the only part of the Phantom experience I having an issue with getting my head wrapped around.
     
  16. BaDvs3viL

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    P3S connects via WiFi to the phone for any of the apps to work. When you have Litchi going, you click on the VR button and put the phone in the VR case and go.

    DJI GO app does not work with VR at all.
     
  17. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    So even if you had a P3A with the HDMI port upgrade, the Go app is not going to work with it, correct?
    Then if so, the only point to upgrade the controller port on a P3A is so you can have two devices going at the same time?
     
  18. BaDvs3viL

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am only talking about the P3S, I have no idea about the P3A. This post is about P3S.
     
  19. mrcrane2u

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    sarasota
    Nvidia shield k1 will work has hdmi out plug goggles in to that
     
  20. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    I knew we all were talking about the P3S, that's what I own myself and what this thread was about.. Just thought to ask, sometimes knowing all aspects of a technology helps to understand things better.