Aircraft disconnected and crashed

Reaction score
I flew my P4P out a few miles to the local water tower and everything was going fine at first (I was getting a forward vision sensor error at the time, not sure if this is related). When I got to the water tower my HD video started getting choppy (I was on 5 gHz) but the controller signal was still 3 or 4 bars strong so i figured if i lost video I would just smash the RTH button and I'd be fine. While orbiting the water tower my aircraft suddenly disconnected and didnt reconnect. Dead, nothing, no signal, no GPS, no last known location. I hussled out there and sure enough, there was my drone, smashed to bits on the gravel. What happened? why didnt my drone RTH or auto land?

TLDR: I'm a noob and flew my drone out a few miles, aircraft disconnected, turned into a brick, you know the rest. what happened?

Reactions: Sirsly
what happened?
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.

heres the .txt file. not sure how else I should upload this to you guys. the forum wont let me upload the .CSV or .KML file

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2018-04-11_[13-18-48].txt
    597.7 KB · Views: 372
If you follow the instructions that @msinger provided you can upload the data properly. If you did not follow his link try this one and place a link back here to that file once uploaded. Otherwise you will not get much help without the data file.

DJI Flight Log Viewer

Without seeing the flight log... Did the water tower block your signal? If you were moving in towards the water tower when the signal was blocked, it has enough time to fly into the tower and crash.