Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, earlier I saw a video of someone being able to zoom digitally while the phantom was in camera mode. I believe he zoomed by pinching in and out on the screen. I tried this earlier today and it didn't work? Am I missing something? Do I have to enable something to be able to do this or is this a beta program only some have access to?
     
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I haven't tried it yet but I think you have to be in a lower resolution than 4K. I don't think you can if you are set to 4K.
     
  3. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Yes, it works fine on my P4, I like it. When recording video in 1080 you have up to a 2X zoom capability, and it doesn't lose much clarity, even though it's digital zoom. I think this is because they are cropping the 4K sensor, so the result is a native 1080, it looks pretty darn good. If you're using 2.7K resolution to video, the zoom is less. The only downside is the zoom action is not smooth, it looks really jerky if you leave the zoom action in the video. Most will edit out the zoom in and out action since it looks so cheesy. If you touch and spread your fingers fast, it will go from 1X to 2X instantly, which doesn't look bad, and vice versa, pinch FAST to go from 2X to 1X is OK too. This leaves out the jerky steps from 1.0 to 1.2, to 1.3, etc.
     
  4. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok. Awesome. I thought that's what I did but nothing happened except the exposure circle popped up. I'll try again..thanks.
     
  5. J&L

    J&L

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    49
    Does this work on the P3A? Mine is returning from DJI today.
     
  6. Davphys

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    247
    No. Only the Inspire and the P4.
     
    Blue Bird and J&L like this.
  7. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    For the love of god, how do I get this feature to work? I tried every single video resolution. I tried recording then not recording. I tried pinching in, then out. Slow, then fast, absolutely nothing happens. No zooming. What am I not understanding?
     
  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    It also works on the Osmo as well!
     
  9. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    On your screen! Pinch In, Pinch out!
     
  10. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am pinching on my screen, nothing happens. Only thing I see is the yellow exposure circle pops up..?
     
  11. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have tried for three days now. Wth?
     
  12. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    You must be in 1080P for the feature to work. Check your resolution.
     
  13. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just tried. Nothing happens. Maybe cause I have android(samsung galaxy s6 edge)?
     
  14. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Be sure your running the latest go app 2.7.1 for android. I would suggest that you uninstall the app and re install.
     
  15. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have the current version. But I'll go ahead and reinstall.
     
  16. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nope, still not working. I reinstalled and tried again. Only thing that happens is the yellow exposure circle pops up or the blue circle pops up and my gimble moves up or down. I tried pinching in, out, slow and fast. Nothing.
     
  17. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Currently the go app will not zoom in camera picture mode. If this is what you are trying to do, then your out of luck for now until the next update for this.
    In video mode, you will be able to use the Zoom feature.
     
    #17 Blue Bird, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  18. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm in video mode. I tried both recording and not recording while trying. Tried every resolution and combination. Screw it. I give up.
     
  19. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for the advice though.
     
  20. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    No worries, Give it another try later. All I know is that my personal P4 is doing it's thing. I love it! Good Luck!