Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Tymbo Sky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning fellow pilots,

    I just wanted to know why my beautiful brand new phantom 4 will immedietly land in place, in all RTH activations ( smart, fail safe ) within 20 m, if it clearly has the ability to land in the direct vicinity of my home point when over 20 m. Is there a positive side to this that I'm missing ?

    Thanks and happy flying friends.
     
  2. DanieOos

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    That's by the design.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    You could always do Auto Land, but from what I've read it comes down hard.
     
  6. Tymbo Sky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My main issue is the failsafe RTF when I loose connection when I'm snapping photos of homes. There is no way to over ride this function ?
     
  7. Stolenvw

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Set it to hover, then your going to have to walk around and get a connection again

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G925A using Tapatalk
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    There are a few things you can do. First, disable Smart Return-to-Home so your Phantom does not attempt to RTH when the battery is low.

    DJI-GO-Smart-Go-Home.png

    Next, set the Remote Controller Signal Lost setting to "Hover". That will tell your Phantom to hover in place if it ever becomes disconnected from the remote controller.

    DJI-GO-RC-Signal-Lost.jpg

    Finally, ensure you land before your battery reaches the critically low level. When the battery reaches that level, it'll auto land at its current location.
     
    Jussaguy likes this.
  9. Tymbo Sky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I've noticed that option which I have set to when I'm flying in that situation. I'm just surprised it's not an setting to allow to always land at home if it actually has the ability to.
    Thanks guys. Appreciate it
     
  10. Tymbo Sky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess If im flying over water I should just always make sure I'm 20 m away.

    Does anyone know how often connection is lost on the phantom 4? Is it a rare thing ?
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    It most commonly happens when there is an obstacle between the Phantom and the remote controller.
     
  12. BMP

    BMP

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    I posted a very similar thread the other day and got similar responses.
    It really is a stupid function that does not make sense.
    Return to home should mean "Return to Home"
    In my case it turned out I had a faulty Remote Controller but if I had taken off over water I would have lost the drone.
    It should at least be an option to set it as "always return to home" if ever signal is lost etc no matter how far away.
     
    alokbhargava likes this.
  13. Tymbo Sky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely agree with that. An option would have been nice. All it would take is an update. I mean it has the technology. Anyways. I will definitely set it to hover if I'm shooting photos for a house, and hope I don't loose connection in an open space when I'm flying over water within 20 metres.
     
  14. BMP

    BMP

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes - I think it would probably be a very simple software update for them.
    As someone else said, if taking off near water or a cliff or anything get 20 to 30 metres away asap.
    At least we know now about this "feature".
     
  15. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    On the lighter side: We should read RTH meaning as:

    Return to Home
    Return to Hover
    Return to Hell

    :)

    I think I could read the brain waves of designers.
    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots