Who here is a certified pilot?

Reaction score
Just curious, but who on this forum is an FAA certified pilot? I am a retired commercial pilot with CFI and IFR ratings, but it's been seven years since I last flew. The Phantom and FPV is how I get my "high" these days.

Not a pilot, and not certified, but have soloed in gliders and spent 10 years flying military flight simulators (as part of my job) in the UK in the 80s/90s.

I got my private in about 1985. In 1983 I bought a used Scorpion helicopter for $650. It had some damage. I repaired the damage but never flew it. I sold it to a guy and with the money bought a 1973 Cessna 150 a month later cash in annual. I took my lessons in that and got my license. No ifr rating though. After my first solo, I could fly all I wanted within 25 miles I believe. That was fun.

Did the PPL in 2004 in San Diego. Logged about 60+ hours in total mostly in 172s. I was going to do the CAA conversion as I was living mostly in London at the time but never got around to it. I blame the weather.

I got my private in 87. Checked out in Cessna 150/152/172, Piper Warrior and Archer, Aerospatiale Tobago and Trinidad. Waiting on the FAA for my check ride with the Phantom 2. ;)

I was based at a small strip. One day I was doing touch and gos. As I came in a bunch of cows had wandered onto the runway. After a couple of very low passes, I scared them away. No idea how they ended up on the runway.

Used to hold a CMEL. Once upon a time an airshow pilot as well. Time in warbirds too. Lost my medical so my flying now
is with my Phantoms.

Earned my Private ticket for SEL back in 1976, added glider by aero tow endorsement in 1990 and SEL taildragger sign-off in 1995. Flew tow plane for the glider club I belonged to for a few years, lots of fun in a 1953 Piper Super Cub, Lycoming 150 hp with a climb prop. Now I fly RC.

David

Steve, I'm not a licensed pilot but I did fly a cessna 150 for 30 minutes.