Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

White balance Help!

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by guchino, Apr 23, 2016.

  1. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    ICOPY15.JPG Suddenly white balance has been out of order.
    There was not a problem at all till then.
    Currently I cannot completely adjust it manual nor auto.
    Any help,suggestion.Please.
     
  2. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    Are you using filters of any kind?
     
  3. Happysnapper79

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    That's not a white balance issue that's an issue with exposure, is this in video and still or just one?
     
  4. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not
    No filter at all.
    Footage video cut.
    But in room same.
     
  5. Happysnapper79

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
  6. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd check histogram by LITCHI.
    The graph comes to have very high right side
     
  7. Happysnapper79

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    If it was a white balance issue then the whole image would suffer from a colour cast, the extremes of which would be a tinge of colour all over the image, the image you have posted is suffering from an over exposure in the sky, the foreground is exposed properly resulting in the bright sky being over exposed. This is a common issue when shooting into the sun or a very bright sky as the dynamic range of the camera can't cope.
     
  8. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anyway happened suddenly.
    No problem at alltill then.
     
  9. Happysnapper79

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    If the histogram is to the right then this would also suggest its overexposed, are the camera/video settings set to auto? It could be that whilst flying you touched the screen where the foreground is by mistake and its exposed for that.
     
  10. garykeithmead1

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Uk
    Looks Way over exposed. Try useing the in over exposure warning in the camera toolbox settings to get the exosure correct.
     
    #10 garykeithmead1, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016
  11. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry not good at English.

    Please explain easy word.
    (It could be that whilst flying you touched the screen where the foreground is by mistake and its exposed for that.)
     
  12. Happysnapper79

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    If the camera is set to auto and you touch your iPad/iPhone/tablet screen in an area with no buttons the camera will change the exposure for that area, if that area was darker than the sky then it will make the sky look over exposed.
     
  13. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks.
    I'l check it again.
    May be? I changed mobile device smartphone to tablet at that time.
     
  14. bernek

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to reset camera ? (first from settings) then from the physical button on the back. You might need to pair again with the RC or range extender.
     
  15. guchino

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks.
    The cause was unclear, but was cured all too soon when I repeated reset.
    By the way,How to try the physical button reset?
     
  16. bernek

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm glad it's sorted out ! Never mind the rest button. Doesn't exist I was thinking about another model from another multicopter.

    If the reset settings (software side) helped out is great thing :)

    Have fun and fly safe !