What Phantom to buy?

Reaction score
I'm new to drones, and really like what the DJI Phantom has to offer. I started recently with a couple of toy drones to see if I like it. First was an MJX X101, and then a WLToys Q303-A. So, I know how to fly okay now, and can get the birds up and back without crashing them, (anymore, lol). Going to the Q303-A was a huge difference, having the altitude hold. It made things so much easier. The one-axis gimbal made the video much more viewable.

But now I'm at the point where I'm ready for a Phantom, and I'm torn between the 3P and the P4. I like that 4 has collision avoidance and better position hold. I've seen on Amazon [Buy A DJI Phantom - Phantom Help] that prices for a decent P3 package are as low as $799, but then it's only a couple hundred more for a basic P4 package.

What do you guys think?

Last edited:
Reactions: dirkclod
If it still meets your budget, I'd personally go for the P4. The P4 is built better, has a locking prop system, and is more stable than the P3s. You can find a list of other new features in the P4 here.

Is it safe to buy a recon P4? I'm not sure I'm okay with that. I hear their customer support is one of the worst in the business, so I don't know about getting one that has already had issue. Though, of course they are cheaper, but is it worth it? Maybe the recon I get isn't fully fixed...

DJI is selling refurbished P4's. good price, good quad.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Is it safe to buy a recon P4?
It is if it's sold by DJI. If you search this site, you'll see many people are very happy with their refurbished Phantoms. Also, keep in mind that many people who send their Phantoms in for repair are receiving a refurbished unit in return. So, sending out refurbished units is not something new for DJI.

Welcome to the forum David .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .