Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using iPad and iPhone on same drone

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Kenneth Gundersen, Nov 24, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Kenneth Gundersen

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Terneveien 5, Lyngdal, Norway
    Just wondering if there are any issues using iPad and iPhone with same drone? I have used the iPad 3 and it works very nice, but was thinking of setting up and using the iPhone 6s as well. Thinking about the flightlog, image/video storage on ipad/iphone, etc.
     
  2. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I do it. Syncing both will keep them current.


    Sent from my iPhone 6+ using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Kenneth Gundersen likes this.
  3. Tim_alabim

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have been switching back and forth. You can sync the flight records via the cloud (I had varying success with some sync failures). You need to remember if you make a critical setting change specific to the Go App on one you need to do on the other as well. I'm thinking Images/video will only be on the device that recorded it, but I could be wrong.
     
    Kenneth Gundersen likes this.
  4. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    That is correct.


    Sent from my iPhone 6+ using Tapatalk Pro
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    My original iPad 3 wouldn't allow download of the old Pilot App.
    So wondering which iPad 3 you are referring to?

    RedHotPoker
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    RHP - FYI that your original iPad 3 will now download the app, but since it's the old connector I'm not sure if it will actually show any FPV during use.
    GO 2.4 now downloads to older Apple devices | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I keep changing between iPad Mini and iPhone 6S.
     
  8. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Oh, I would never try to run this rich app and firmware with that older processing power. Probably go up in a poof of smoke.
    I doubt it would even fit in the Inspire 1 device holder, will it?
    Let me check this myself. No, not even close. How are you attached to the radio, device holder? Must have that z shaped extention hook.
    And talk about heavy weight, compared to thee Air 2 Cellular.
    Glad I'm not stuck with that boat anchor, around my collar. Talk about Feeling like an Oxen in a neck yoke.
    Are you actually flying with this setup, & are you mostly sitting down?

    RedHotPoker
     
    #8 RedHotPoker, Nov 24, 2015
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
  9. Borntofly

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Is it possible to have Ipad 3 connected to the controller for the settings etc., and same time have iphone 6+ connected as FPV goggles? I have DJI phantom 3 pro with hdmi module.
     
  10. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    An iPad 3 doesn't run the Go app well, poor prcessing power. How/why would you use it?
    Not sure how you will wear the iPhone headset either? Haha

    RedHotPoker