Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unknown code error 42

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by leekiya, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Since the update to 1.3 i have had a few unknown 42 errors when trying to start up, take the battery out and let some air get into the craft and it starts. Now before the update when on 1.9 i use to get a few barometer noisy errors and same again take the battery out and let some air into the craft and it started. Anyone know if that 42 error is the new barometer error on the latest firmware.
     
  2. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Not a common problem then, blade i could really use your help on this one. LOL
     
  3. rass3

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Europe, Finland, Helsinki
    I got the same error with my P3A (firmware 1.2.8), I asked the customer support chat about it, they said it was compass error. If you calibrate your phantom it should be okay.
     
  4. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    I will give another compass Cali a try along with another IMU and see how it goes. Hope it's as simple as that but I can't see it. Did a fresh compass straight after the update, Will give it another try tho when it stops raining, you never know it could be just something as simple as that. I certanly hope so.
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,928
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Not familiar with it. @blade strike, can you shed any light on this?
     
  6. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    What's your mod values of the compass?
     
  7. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    It's 1500 to 1520
     
  8. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Thats pretty much in the sweet spot.
     
  9. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cooling the craft down now in the car to do another IMU, then another gimbal and compass and hope that does the trick, my last IMU was not that cold and i had a big start up time. Hoping this works but not holding much hope. Will post on here when i find out what that error 42 is.
     
  10. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    If you device keeps giving you this error I would recommend for you to not fly.

    I would definitely try what you're doing but if it raises it's head again it will probably have to be sent in for repair.
     
  11. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Yea I am guessing this 42 error is the new barometer error which is a job for dji. Can you confirm if it is the barometer error or not. Cheers for help on this blade.
     
  12. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Yes, as per a repair manual it is. I will try to contact someone tonight from HQ to get a definite answer.
     
  13. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cheers blade your a star.
     
  14. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Confirmed hardware and needs to be sent in for repair.
     
    Buckaye likes this.
  15. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cheers blade I will get it sent in. Cheers
     
  16. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    JoBe and Buckaye like this.
  17. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Yea I have had a feeling for a while she will need to go in for hardware repair. Did a very cold IMU and gimbal and compass yesterday and have not had it since then and done 2 flights yesterday and a couple more today with no problems, but no doubt the problem will come up again so it's best she goes in to be sorted. I have another phantom I can fly while I wait for the long return process so not to big a problem, and there is a company in the UK that has been selling imported pro models from the states cheap which I have been tempted by for a few weeks now so I might end up getting one of them, my pal got one from them and it flys far, very far. Bummer I got to send it in tho but hay ho it could be worse.
    Thanks again blade for looking into this for me. Big thumbs up bud.
     
  18. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Did you send it to Germany ?
     
  19. rass3

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Europe, Finland, Helsinki
    So, if got it once? After Imu cal, the drone has been stable over ten flights. Is this a big issue?
     
    #19 rass3, Aug 10, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  20. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Not sent it yet robin been flying it today with no probs, got it from Heliguy so might just send it back to them to send of and sort out which the retailer has to take care of by law, but if it's going to slow the job down to much I might send it back myself depending on cost. Yea think it is Germany they need to go to from the UK tho from what I know.