Understanding distance

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm very new to drones and new to this forum.

I just purchased a Phantom 3 Standard and have taken it out for a spin two or three times - the first on 'beginner mode' and second time I removed the 'max distance'. However, I've only flown the drone as far as the video signal - once it started breaking up I came back. Why? Because I'm scared of losing £450!

What I want to ask is, if I fly the drone beyond video distance, can I still control the drone without worry (obviously as long as the remote is still in signal) and will I get a warning once the remote signal is about to drop? Also, if I do lose signal, will the drone automatically return home or will it just stay in place until I go closer and pick up signal again?

I live in North Wales so it's quite rural here but we do have lots of mountains and trees about which I understand can affect signal quality. But we have so many places I can take the drone, I want to get over this 'fear' and learn to enjoy flying greater distances than 50-100m.

Any advice is much appreciated!

Thanks.

Oh - here are the first two flights I made from the park opposite my house (beginner mode)

Nice scenery!

Reactions: CaptnSpaulding
Welcome to the forum. Yes you will have a warning upon signal loss at such time the phantom will return to home, also known as RTH. You will find that information as well as many other discussions and viewpoints in this forum.

Reactions: CaptnSpaulding
Welcome to the forum. Yes you will have a warning upon signal loss at such time the phantom will return to home, also known as RTH. You will find that information as well as many other discussions and viewpoints in this forum.
Thank you :)

if I do lose signal, will the drone automatically return home or will it just stay in place until I go closer and pick up signal again?