Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unable to start the motor with CSC

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by *ice*, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. *ice*

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi everyone, I have been using the CSC method to start my drone and take it off manually. When I tried to fly it this morning, the drone wasn't responding to my CSC at all. I had to use the "Auto take off" method on my tablet and fly it. No problem at all during the flight.

    Did the new update on the GO app cause this to happen? I am using a Nexus 7 2013 wifi only model. Firmware on the RC and P3A are on latest version.
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I believe you need RC calibration.
     
  3. sithphelan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    6
    Maybe in beginner mode? I don't think csc works in beginner mode. ??
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    If that's the case it should be called 'display' mode.

    CSC works in all modes.

    As mentioned RC cal may be required to assure that the proper output is being created when the sticks are moved to the maximum positions.
     
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,104
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
  7. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    This happened to me once. I power-cycled the bird & TX and all was good.
    If that doesn't do it, time to calibrate.
     
  8. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    1,397
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    When this has happened to me a pop up message shows what the issue is.
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Make sure you are in Mode 2-- because the CSC two sticks down and in will not work on the other modes. The CSC for different modes changes.
     
  10. *ice*

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    thanks for ALL your help guys! I figured out the problem. Its the stupid yaw control add-on I got for $2 on Ebay. Took it off and everything works good. I guess the measurement wasn't good enough for that 3D printed model and it was blocking the sticks from going all the way down.

    Pics below:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  11. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    In Mode 1 (vs. 2) the Throttle and Elevator functions swap sticks.

    This has no effect on CSC as it is stick position (raw data) not the function assigned which performs the action(s).
     
    #11 N017RW, Nov 24, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
  12. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If a Custom Mode is set up and controls are swapped it will have an effect.. Tested it my self. It took different CSC 's to start the engines.
     
  13. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    There are 4 different CSC configurations. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448400135.594304.jpg
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You can still use the $2 Yaw mod. Just recalibrate the sticks with them on. This will re-register you new max positions.

    Also, the new firmware allows more range in yaw adjustments. Drop the rudder sensitivity in EXPO settings down to 0.2 and this will slow down yaw rates for finite controls.
     
  15. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    There is also a Custom Mode where you can change stick functions. Those require CSC's of up and out and down and in or vice versa depending on the configurations.
     
  16. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well, have to remember not to use those configs. Thanks.
     
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Someone on the forum wanted to change them and couldn't get his to start with the CSC.. So I went in and found out that if you use the custom settings and switch the stick commands the CSC is a radically different position.
     
  18. *ice*

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    I tried that with the yaw controller many times and still a no go after...