Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Top distance

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Seanw12, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. Seanw12

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys I did a distance test with my p3s to and got 1.8km and was wondering what everyone else's top distance is please post and let me know
    I was using a windsurfer other than that its stock also I was flying over my family farm not anyone else's property


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    [​IMG]3.8km stock with windsurfer


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  3. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    I had a good flight last nite! Do boosters and battery mods count in this post?
     
    Gliding Drone Pilot likes this.
  4. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I know you have the best record here.
     
  5. soulphantomflyer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    54
    I can never get my standard to fly beyond 2400 ft with no mod, so your 1.8km double my best! Respect!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Gliding Drone Pilot likes this.
  6. chapy23

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    21
    Battery mod ??, sound interesting.

    One detail i can told you, from the time i remove my complet gimbal/camera (it was defect), i gain almost 10 min of flying time.
     
  7. Seanw12

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didn't think it would go that far but there is no signal interruptions because I'm in the country side:)


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. bobby2001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Was getting 1.8 mile then did firmware update and I can even go 100m before rth kicks in any one else have the same problem


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Gliding Drone Pilot likes this.
  9. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Was on here to check out everybody's flights not to brag, or to step on anybody's toes. Just thought I'd ask the question to make sure this wasn't a windsurfer only post
     
  10. jrws6

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Check you fail safe settings and see if the new software reset them.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  11. bobby2001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Where can I find that


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. stavrossid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    /off topic mode on: I think we should keep one distance topic to see all our records!

    I have get mine up to 1.25km so far!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Seanw12

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone know what range is with argtek mod


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. soulphantomflyer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    54
    Question. Using windsurfer or argtek to boost the range of RC, won't you still lose the video/gps map on the Dji go that depend on tablet wifi?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #14 soulphantomflyer, Apr 21, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  15. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
  16. Gliding Drone Pilot

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    So On topic:
    I can barely get my P3 Standard 100 metres away either before the bloody thing reports Signal Lost in DJI Go and begins RTH!!
    So bloody painful. I Feel your Frustration Bobby. I seriously think that I could Hurl my Phantom further than it will fly at present!
    Can anyone shed some light or have any suggestions as to what to do?


    Also Can someone please tell me what a Windsurfer is??
     
  17. Gliding Drone Pilot

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    HOLY SHIZNIT!!! This is about 13.5 Km's!! How on earth did you achieve this bud???
     
  18. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    All the answers you seek are here Grasshopper
    This is gonna be fun! (Distance tests)
     
    66Fury and Gliding Drone Pilot like this.
  19. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi. I did a distance test today over an open field far away from interference (some trees though).
    I had constant signal on both video and RC for 1,25 km before losing signal and returning. Not too bad when it's rated 0,5 km here in CE mode-land (Norway). This is stock / no windsurfer.
    After updating to the latest firmware firstly I was disappointed because I lost connection after 50-100 meters. This was in an area where there was a lot of interference, but the day before on older firmware I got a lot further. I don't know if the newer firmwares actually have made more problems with connection in areas with some interference or if it just varies from day to day, but today was a good day as I got proof that my drone is fine with distance as long as the air is "clean".


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Did the firmware update reset to beginner mode which limit the distance to 100m?