Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Toggles going from 'ON' to 'OFF'

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Phantom Ben, May 31, 2016.

  1. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi could anyone help me to solve the issue I have with my phantom 3 standard?

    Recently I bought the drone off eBay. It flies perfectly but won't:
    +fly higher than 30m (beginner mode off)
    +Can't toggle multiple flight modes to ON as it quickly switches over to 'OFF'
    +cant do video when I change from photos, it just goes back to photo mode.
    +no toggles working which will alter the settings of the drone

    Please anyone who could help me out would be a great help

    Ben
     
  2. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Personally I would uninstall Go completely then reinstall. It sounds to me like it might be a software issue.
     
  3. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have already tried and it still won't respond to my desired settings.
    :(
     
  4. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hmm, firmware updated? both on the RC and the quad?
     
  5. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that it may be an issue with the drone being unable to respond to my settings? I have tried the app on both the iPhone 6 and the Nexus 7 both to which dont work
     
  6. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you update the RC as well as the quad?
     
  7. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
    when there is a firmware update available, it should update both if needed.
     
  8. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I have also contacted DJI who have told me to go through various processes all of which dont work for me.
     
  9. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
    you might also try re-linking the RC to the quad if you have not already tried that.
     
  10. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I could try that. It's more to do with the app I think. E.g: whenever I go to switch on multiple flight modes, a warning comes up saying 'action failed retry after take off'
     
  11. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
  12. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whe n you did the beginners tutorial, could you easily set the altitude? Whenever I click on 120m, it just says action failed
     
  13. Tarheal63

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Tennessee
    i didn't walk thru the tutorials, so i couldn't really say. I just turned off beginner mode and let it rip. Kept the defaults on everything else.
     
  14. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I'm going to keep looking into it and see if anyone else has any other comments to put forward.
    Could I hard reset the drone?
     
  15. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    If it is an app issue, be sure to do a clean install.
    Simply uninstalling, and reinstalling can many time yield zero positive results

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  16. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you suggest reinstalling the app again? Also, how do I update the firmware on both the phantom 3 standard drone and RC?
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,544
    Location:
    US
    If an update is available, you'll see a message at the top of the DJI GO app. Just follow the prompts on the screen.
     
  18. Phantom Ben

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I have reinstalled it and no other updates needed but the dji app still will not effectively change the drone settings. The app says that there is an issue between the RC and the drone connection meaning possibly it could need fixing physically?

    Has anyone else had similar problems?
     
  19. Garry C

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    34
    are you making these changes just in the app? or do you have everything fired up and then making changes?
     
    gvsukids likes this.
  20. Tony B

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    43
    if you delete the app it will ask if you want to keep data, i delete the data as well, so it becomes a fresh install, never had a problem doing that. Of course doing that resets all your stats but i don't care about those