Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Stage 4 troubles

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Mods' started by Scoot-Scoot, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just received my installed Stage 4 from Fpvlr. Dji app. saying " broken connection " even before I take off. Now camera just stopped tilting up and down. Any advice would be appreciated. I'll try to include my controller connections. image.jpg image.jpg
     
  2. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Bird side connections image.jpg image.jpg
     
  3. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wrote FPVLR getting a reply saying antennas were on the wrong side. Moved as instructed. Still no camera tilt per remote input.
    Little disappointed no instructions were ever sent with installed kit. For $712.00 with shipping. I half expected to receive installed kit, attach antennas, and start flying. No such luck.
     
  4. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    you have a 2.4 antenna on the 5.8 side looks like the sides are labeled large antennas are the2.4 image-jpg.17083
     
  5. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any idea why my camera won't pan up or down now?
     
  6. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    image.jpg
    Not exactly what I expected.
     
  7. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    try it without the booster

    Also make sure you don't turn the booster on until after the controller and wifi booster have been on for a few minutes
     
  8. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Make sure those tiny plugs on end of camera ribbon cable are seated.
     
  9. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    With the help of Rotowash we were able to recalibrate and get camera tilt back. Fpvlr guy has me doing some checks tomorrow with antennas ran into stock wifi extender and wants to know range then. Range earlier was only 100 feet away and then getting a broken signal. That was using the complete system with amps. Per picture above.
     
  10. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    did Tony install the boosters on the controller?
     
  11. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes. Tony did the install.
     
  12. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    Make sure the cable going into the 5.8 amp is not broken as it looks kinked (near the lipo battery). Does the purple light flash quickly once Tx and aircraft is on?
     
  13. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    No Rotorwash, I didn't read your prior comment correctly. Tony did not install the amplifiers on the radio. No instructions either. I had to do that part myself. Which I have stated to tony I didn't appreciate. After paying for the install
     
  14. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    keep me posted. I'm curious. I just flew with boosters and new cable with 90 degree bends and could only get 1750 ft.

    I also noticed that the 5.8 booster the purple light is on but not flickering like the 2.4. The directions say its transmitting when flickering. I wonder if its because its the transmitter controls.
     
  15. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm hopeful Tony will read that and want to stand behind his products. Other people on another thread are offering to help too. Might look up that thread. Sounds like something is not right on yours too. By the way where did you get your 90deg. cables? I might end up getting a set sometime too.
     
    #15 Scoot-Scoot, Apr 15, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  16. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    No it should flash pretty furiously

     
  17. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got them from amazon
     
    Scoot-Scoot likes this.
  18. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Rotorwash I was able to get 3400ft today using antennas only. It was a very flat area with no trees around. That's a big difference from around my home. Might try that without your boosters in a perfectly flat area with no trees. I also asked Tony in email if running the amplifiers to certain antennas on the controller would make a difference. Before when I received them I just connected them going by pictures online. Not knowing one was a 2.4GHz and one was a 5.8GHz. Maybe this could help you too. And Im going to look up those cables from Amazon Thanks.
     
    #18 Scoot-Scoot, Apr 16, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015
  19. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    my boosters are connected to the right antenna. I might have an issue with my 5.8 since the purple light doesn't flicker. I need to check it out.

    here is a link to the cables I got
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00COK0ICE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
    #19 rotorwash, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2015
    Scoot-Scoot likes this.
  20. Scoot-Scoot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Rotorwash. Got them ordered.