Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Rather embarrassing question, but have to ask.

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by atariman, May 17, 2016.

  1. atariman

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    30
    Let's say I am on a hill top or peak of a mountain with my p4.

    I set it up and it's all good for lift off.

    I also intend to fly down the hillside/mountainside and in the valleys below.

    Question is, what do I set my RTH height too?

    Does it know where it is and how high up it is?
    Let's say I set my RTH height to 50meters. Does it return to 50 meters above the point it's at in the valley or 50meters above the height at which it took off from, which the mountain peak. If I fly 30meters down in the valley and initiate RTH, does it climb another 50meters, or does it climb another 30, then begin to climb another 50?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #1 atariman, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
    DoSMaN likes this.
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    You can set your RTH height to whatever you want. It's up to you to take the height of any obstacles into account.

    That height you set is relative to your home point regardless of the terrain around you.

    If you launch high and fly down 30 meters with RTH height at 50 meters, it will climb 80 meters.
     
    DoSMaN and FrequentFlyer like this.
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,651
    Likes Received:
    4,716
    Your Phantom knows exactly where it is if it has a good view of the sky but the only height it knows is Home = Zero
    All other heights are relative to home.
     
  4. Derek Mackinnon

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Your height will go to - when you fly below the starting point, I've flown down and seen -100ft before, it comes back to 0 then goes to its RTH height that you set.
     
  5. DoSMaN

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens / Greece
    Excellent question there...!!!
    I has the same query about that, since i want to do the same shoot...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Rather embarrassing question Forum Date
UFO Light Ring!! (retitled rather than reposted) Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 12, 2016
Phantom 4 Zoom using a controller rather than 'pinch' Phantom 4 Help Jun 24, 2016
A rather large dog story and a Phantom 3 Pro General Discussion Jul 3, 2015
Rather be flying? General Discussion Sep 3, 2014
what would you rather have? Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal Jun 12, 2014