Questions for all Phantom Pilots

Reaction score
Website
droneuav.co.uk
Hello,

I'm new to quadcopters and have never flown an Phantom but plan to buy my first very soon. I'm currently practising with a Hubsan x4 107D.

1. How did you get started?
  2. Did you buy a small, trainer drone before buying a Phantom?
  3. If you bought a small quadcopter first, how many hours practice did you put in before buying a Phantom?
  4. Have you had any training or mentoring from experienced pilots, or are you entirely self-taught?
  5. Do you regard your Phantom as a stepping stone to bigger, more complex multirotors or will you stick with it?

As you can see, I'm trying to get an idea of whether or not a structured approach is better than just buying one and jumping in at the deep end. I expect there's no right answer for everyone, but it would be interesting to know how people develop their skills.

Drone Camera Films said:
Hello,

I'm new to quadcopters and have never flown an Phantom but plan to buy my first very soon. I'm currently practising with a Hubsan x4 107D.

3. If you bought a small quadcopter first, how many hours practice did you put in before buying a Phantom?
  4. Have you had any training or mentoring from experienced pilots, or are you entirely self-taught?
  5. Do you regard your Phantom as a stepping stone to bigger, more complex multirotors or will you stick with it?

As you can see, I'm trying to get an idea of whether or not a structured approach is better than just buying one and jumping in at the deep end. I expect there's no right answer for everyone, but it would be interesting to know how people develop their skills.

Hi there and welcome to the Mad House ! :D

I started with quads a few years back with a Parrot ARDrone. It was fun to start with but I soon lost interest as it wasnt really capable of flying much further than a few hundred meters and I found it really unstable and difficult to control.