Proper procedure for compass cali?

Reaction score
I have seen lots of methods for doing the field compass cali (I am new at this):

1 - rotate the bird about the yaw axis - stand bird 90 degrees on end and rotate about the roll axis
2 - hold the bird at arms length level and rotate your body about it's "yaw" axis, stand the bird 90 degrees on end and do the same thing
3 - rotate the bird about the yaw axis and the stand the bird 90 degrees on end and rotate about the yaw axis again
and many more...

Is there a best and preferred way to do a compass cali? If it does not matter, no big deal - I don't want to start up a thread similar to "what is the best motor oil"....

:)

bergenfelter said:
I have seen lots of methods for doing the field compass cali (I am new at this):

1 - rotate the bird about the yaw axis - stand bird 90 degrees on end and rotate about the roll axis
2 - hold the bird at arms length level and rotate your body about it's "yaw" axis, stand the bird 90 degrees on end and do the same thing
3 - rotate the bird about the yaw axis and the stand the bird 90 degrees on end and rotate about the yaw axis again
and many more...

Is there a best and preferred way to do a compass cali? If it does not matter, no big deal - I don't want to start up a thread similar to "what is the best motor oil"....

I wouldn't think it matters as long as the calibration sequence completes properly

bergenfelter said:

and many more...

#1 and #2 are the same. #2 is easier IMO. #3 also works, which is how I did it when I first got mine and it worked fine. I now use #2.

I use #2. I find it easier to hold it at arms length so I can watch the lights. Feel kind of dumb doing a do-see-do with the Phantom but it is what it is and I have the confidence the compass is calibrated.

Catalina36 said: