Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Prop balance?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Suntana, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    How important is it to balance your props? I can understand if your running after market stuff, but how about stock dji props?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I always check mine, some don't but it don't take no time and then I know for sure their good .
     
  3. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    I just plop them on the balancer real quick just to make sure DJI is up to it's standards on everything they sell. Including props.
    Remember, they are a mass production company and product! You will get defects on the average of every 5000 Units.
    Get a prop balancer for better results from the Phantom! It helps increase the life of the bird anyway! Peace Of Mind!
    There are tons of threads on this topic Just use the search option of the forum..
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Or the one in my signature. It's better :)
     
  5. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Nothing there!
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Ya type in the middle ?
     
  7. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    I'd say it's important enough to test them. If they are out of balance it will introduce vibration. I will say this.. I have tested all of my DJI props and found that none were bad enough to require adjustment.

    YMMV


    Phantom 3 Pro / iPad Air 2
     
  8. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    Thanks m0j0 I shall purchase a balancer then, to be certain. Sorry blue bird next time I'll just search for the ton of threads.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,594
    Location:
    US
    Suntana, balancing props is like balancing tires on your car. You don't have to do it, but your car will run better when you do.

    About 50% of my DJI props are usually just a bit off balance out of the box, so I always balance them. I like to use the SpeedyTM prop balancer, but other people swear by the Du-Bro (I own both). Here's how to do it:

     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Sun I use the Du-Bro also and if ya do get that one be sure and get the rod also to fit the props we use .
    balancer.jpg just be sure the table is level :)
    Like m0j0 almost all the one's I have got were fine but a few and I use scotch tape or fingernail polish to get those level
    prefer the tape myself .
     
  11. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    Msinger, thank you I found the same balancer on eBay that is pictured in your post. I understand the importance of a well balanced props. I just didn't want to spend extra money if long time pilots had no issues with stock props. You gave me the answer I was after.
    I did search through the previous threads, bluebird is right there is quite a few threads on this topic, thanks all for the info.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  12. Suntana

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Jaffray, BC Canada
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,594
    Location:
    US
    If money is a concern, then just pick up a prop balancing rod. You can set the rod on a drinking glass. It's not as convenient as using a prop balancer (since the rod can roll off the glass), but it'll do the job.
     
  14. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Which size shaft do you need for the P3A?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,594
    Location:
    US
    Not all shafts are the same size. Any of these rods will work.
     
  16. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    So say you get a Dupro, you need their 6mm shaft and that will work on the P3? Also, you mentioned you use tape - does this mean instead of sanding down the heavier side, you add weight to the lighter side with tape?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,594
    Location:
    US
    Any of the rods at the above link will work. If you go with a different brand, just make sure it's advertised as being compatible with the P3 (or P2). Not all rods are the same diameter in the center. The important part is the threads on the end of the rod.

    Correct.
     
    Blue Bird likes this.