Procedure Requesting Permission to Fly Near Airport

Reaction score
I've been doing all my drone flying in rural areas away from airports, but I will soon have to do flying within 5 miles of controlled airspace. I'm a part 107 drone pilot.

Could someone direct me to a link or info so I can get back up to speed with this?

I contacted an airport in my area and spoke with a controller and asked whether they want to know about all flights within 5 miles, even those of very low altitudes (like 100 feet off the ground) and he said yes and that he had no authority to give me any blanket approval, and further if I were seen and reported, the cops would show up and I'd have some explaining to do and would be subject to fines.

I'm a little hazy about the procedure for each flight and what I need to do. He directed me to www.faa.gov/uas but cautioned me that it might take awhile to be approved.

Let's say I have to photograph a building 3 miles from a major airport. What do I need to do and how long until I would receive approval? What if on the day I said I was going to do the photography the weather was bad and I wanted to do it the next day? From what point is the 5 miles measured?

I've been doing all my drone flying in rural areas away from airports, but I will soon have to do flying within 5 miles of controlled airspace. I'm a part 107 drone pilot.

Could someone direct me to a link or info so I can get back up to speed with this?

I contacted an airport in my area and spoke with a controller and asked whether they want to know about all flights within 5 miles, even those of very low altitudes (like 100 feet off the ground) and he said yes and that he had no authority to give me any blanket approval, and further if I were seen and reported, the cops would show up and I'd have some explaining to do and would be subject to fines.