PLEASE READ: "Home Point Bug" may cause RTH issues

Oso

Premium Pilot
Reaction score
As some of you know, there have been a number of recent reports which seem to indicate that the latest Android version of the GO app (v3.1.2) is not correctly marking your home point location. Also, that it may incorrectly reset your home point during flight which could result in your Phantom attempting to return home to a point roughly 1km WNW away from the actual home point.

There have been a few threads pertaining to RTH issues here as well as on the DJI forum and elsewhere, but in my humble opinion this is not yet as widely known as I think it should be considering it's seriousness. That's why I created this thread.

To me, it seems like a legit bug. DJI does know about these reports, so I'd expect an update soon.

Again, I only wanted to get this information out to more people. I am not an expert on the issue by any means. I don't even use the android version myself. I only know what I have read here and other forums and I am hoping to help make you aware if you are not already. Please correct anything or add anything pertinent.

Please read about this reported issue and make your own decision on whether or not you want to continue using that version of the app. I included a few links below with some background information to get you started.

Maybe try this test if you use the Android 3.1.2 app:
Open up the GO app without your RC and AC. Where are you located in the app? What the reports are saying is that they see themselves reported as being roughly 1km WNW of their actual location.

Note that there are indications that the Litchi app is not impacted, but use with caution until you are confident.

One work around is to simply rollback to an earlier version of the Android GO app until a fix is released.

Please use this thread to help keep the community updated with any news, additional information, corrections or with your personal experiences.

Background information: