Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Ribbon Loose

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jason Catterall, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. Jason Catterall

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have a phantom 3 advanced. The ribbon cable next to the camera underneath, seem to drop a little while flying, when I notice it I push it back up. Could it be loose or is this normal, with gimbal movement, it drops a 3-4mm.
    Jason...
     
  2. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Please send some pictures with some indication where you have the 3-4 mm drop as some of the ribbon cable area are made to absorbe the movement of the camera and some are not moving.
     
  3. Jason Catterall

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, thanks for reply, I have the p3 advanced. I noticed the movement after a old sd card that went bad(Sandisk ultra) and I lost feed. Before checking I noticed the ribbon had moved. I took this picture before pushing in, however I don't think it had come out of socket. More like you said, there is movement for gimbal.
    The sd card I then checked, which was bad and would not format. I have since changed for a Sandisk extreme pro. I think all is good. Connections look good. I was concerned as I have only had the drone a few months and flown only a few times.
    I think ribbon is like you said, for movement. Will see if it moves and take a pic after next flight. And think the sd card I had was no good also.

    Jason
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Jason Catterall

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's another pic, connection looks good to me.

    Jason
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This one should not be loose, it should remain in place as it is not part of any moving item in the gimbal. What seems important to me is that the connector part of the ribbon cable is fully inserted in the small white connector. This is delicate parts so be careful if you touch or push it.
    Here are some pictures of mine (P3A too):
    2016-07-27 08.50.08.jpg 2016-07-27 08.49.00.jpg
     
  6. Jason Catterall

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your help. I am now thinking it's just movement of ribbon as connector is ok.

    Jason.
     
  7. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yes, from yours pics it sounds ok. I would expect that from manufacturing there are some difference in distance and place of the ribbon cable.