P2V or P2V+ cant decide - please help!

Reaction score
Hi there! I'm totally new to RC anything, but find myself extremely pumped about getting one of these.  

I'm hoping the community can help me with my purchase decision. 

First off I'll spell out my needs and situation as best as possible. 

1. Budget: I'd like to keep it around the 1k mark... but could stretch it upward to 1500 should I be convinced the plus is worth it.
2. I'm not a photographer, I'm the kind of guy who ditched my "point and shoot" as soon as soon as my smartphone was doing 8MP because this was 'good enough' for me. That being said, I don't want to spend a lot of money on something that's going to produce lousy jittery video.
3. FPV is important to me.
4. Fly time also important (the one thing that killed the fc40 as an option was it seems to only give 8min or so?) although I loooove the look of a 500 price point. "Dang, I could buy two of these" is my thought.

OK so here we go. 

I like the price point of the P2V ($900 or so), however... once I saw how smooth the video was from the P2V+ model, compared to the P2V... now I don't know.  

The P2V+ seems to also have more control of the camera correct? (rather than just an up down movement, the camera can also pan left to right?). This isn't such a big deal to me... 

Is there any way (inexpensively) to make the P2V video not so jittery and closer to what the P2V+ is producing? 

I'm torn between the two. On one hand I don't want to spend $900 only to be disappointed by the video and always wish I wouldn't have been so cheap. On the other hand, an extra 500 seems like a lot to spend to only gain smoother video with a little more control of the camera. The coptors are the same are they not? Am I missing anything major that the P2V+ is offering?  

Your input is greatly appreciated! I'm hoping to purchase in a month or so... 

I have both a Vision, and a Phantom 2 with GoPro and H3-3D 3-axis gimbal, FPV rig and monitor.