Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Old firmware

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dirtybum, Dec 25, 2015.

  1. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Any reason i should keep old 1.3 firmware?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Keep it installed or keep it archived? If the latter, you can still download it from DJI's website.
     
  3. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Yeah I got it archived. But I also just received a P3 advanced with 1.3 on it. I've never used 1.3
    I started flying P3's on 1.4's so I don't know any advantages it might have. I do know I lost my last PIII advanced due to the battery issues 20 seconds into the flight going full throttle up and out. So I definitely know the benefit of upgrading the batteries to 1.6! But I'm trying to decide is there any benefit to keeping 1.3 and just upgrading the batteries.
    You can only reinstall back down to 1.5.3
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Check out the release notes to see what was added in the newer firmware releases.
     
  5. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Yep. Been there done that! Not new to navigating this stuff. Dont like what i see EXCEPT that they're addressing the faulty 1.5.3battery firmware that dropped so many birds and 2 of my 4 bats are still on that faulty firmware. May just upgrade bats and leave bird on 1.3
    But then again I don't know any benefits of 1.3 that's why am asking the rest of the community who's been there
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    It appears most people have been dropping their own birds by running the batteries down to a dangerous voltage level.
     
  7. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    How do you do that? - keep 1.3 and just upgrade the batteries
     
  8. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    You have to do it by using a different phantom that's on 1.6 whether it's a spare Phantom you have that you've upgraded or a buddies that has upgraded
     
  9. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    I was hoping with this post that somebody would chime in and say I've had 1.3 there's a reason to keep it or I've switched from 1.3 no reason not to
     
  10. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    For me there is a good reason to stay with older FW. Using 1.4.10 in conjunction with Litchi 2.3.1 means that I can avoid the 500m altitude limit. (1.4.10 rather than 1.3.20 means that I have 2.7K video available on my P3A).

    The reasons for using older FW were eloquently discussed in several posts by Rob Robertson in this thread: Should I update my phanton 3 advanced to the latest firmware 1.50030 | DJI Phantom Forum
     
    #10 Flyingoak, Dec 26, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2015
    dirtybum likes this.
  11. UnknownCaller

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Tampa Florida
    Yeah if you haven't updated your drone firmware 1.3 still gives you the ability to cruise over 40 mph with a tailwind. If you go further then that 1.4 and higher you will top out around 35 to 36 mph in GPS mode regardless of how much taIlwind you have.
     
  12. UnknownCaller

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Tampa Florida
    The latest firmware it actually says in the release notes that it purposely decreases acceleration and top speed because of the temperature it's flying in. If it's warmer out allow you to go faster if its cold out it holds performance back some sort of safety precaution.
     
  13. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    What i got out of the notes is that it decreases accel in cold but a complete SEPARATE sentence stated they decrease foward speed period. Which i hate. That means we'll never catch up to unknown