Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nvidia Shield k1 android 6.0 compass issue

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Wacker2611, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Just upgraded the Shield to marshmallow. All works fine apart from the compass which seems to have stopped working altogether. Anyone else upgraded with the same issue?
     
  2. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Have you tried a factory data reset? Doing so usually clears up a lot of issues. I haven't yet updated the firmware to Marshmallow, kind of waiting to see how it pans out. Have you flown with the DJI Go app yet and how did go?
     
  3. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yes, done the reset but still the same. I'd hold off upgrading if I were you, until they sort it. It might just be me of course though. Only had a quick flight on Litchi so far, not tried Go yet. Litchi was fine, apart from the map issue linked to the tablets compass, obviously.
     
    NCFlyGuy likes this.
  4. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for the advice. I've never looked forward to OS updates, always seem to cause more problems. Good luck with the Shield, let us know if anything changes or if you get it sorted out.
     
  5. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
  6. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
    On my (new) Shield K1 with Marshmallow, the compass also doesn't work. ****. Any way to downgrade?
     
  7. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Download Field Compass from google play. Turn it off and reboot. Click on Field Compass and wave the tablet about a bit. That usually works for me.
    There is an inherent problem with the Shield K1. It seems to be very sensitive to magnetic interference. My theory is that it's something to do with shielding or lack of on the speakers. Once you get used to having to calibrate it all the time it's fine though.
     
  8. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
    I downgraded back to 5.1.1 just now, and the compass calibration problem is gone. The compass works fine, out of the box, and I don't have to recalibrate at all. To me, this is a 6.0 issue, but Nvidia support doesn't acknowledge it (yet?)...
    Under 6.0, the compass would only move 10-20 degrees, even if I turned the tablet 180°.
     
    pomonabill220 likes this.
  9. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Not sure, I tried raising a bit of interest in it on various forums, but didn't get any feedback whatsoever, apart from the Field Compass fix. I'm interested in your roll back - has it definitely solved the problem permanently? Is it easy enough to downgrade ?
     
  10. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    Thanks for the tip and info.
    I just got my shield Wed and updated pretty much out of box. never really looked at compass till your post.
    It was froze/messed up as mentioned.
    I had a different compass program installed but it did not work , even when I did the cal setup in it.
    I did install field compass and it says magnetic interference almost anuwhere I was, I still did the figure 8 and it then just started working and functions in the compass.
    I will try in phantom later if possible
     
  11. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yes I've found the secret is to reboot the tablet, then immediately go into field compass and swish it about a bit. After a few seconds it calibrates, then Go/Litchi maps and radarwork fine and show the right orientation etc. I always use the map locked on true North anyway, but it's helpful to have the phantom icon showing it's accurate orientation and the tablets compass needs to be right in order to do that. Bit of a pain to do every time, but it's now become part of my start up routine. It's good practice to cold boot your tablet anyway, so no real hassle. Hopefully they'll sort this over sensitivity in an update.
     
    #11 Wacker2611, Jan 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
    kirk2579 likes this.
  12. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
    Wacker2611 likes this.
  13. Tommymonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    Going to try this tomorrow thanks
     
  14. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
  15. ukglyn

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Staffordshire U.K
    Ive just had a K1 yesterday & its running android 6, what compass are you talking about?
     
  16. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Well, out of curiosity I threw the towel in and rolled back to lollipop. It does appear that the compass is now fine and doesn't require constant recalibration, although it is still very sensitive.
     
  17. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
    I'll stay with Lollipop for now, but it's crazy Nvidia doesn't even acknowledge this issue in Marshmallow...
     
  18. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    I agree. I think the trouble is, most people with these tablets wouldn't even notice the erratic compass so it's a non issue for them and consequently for nvidia. It does seem strange that android 6.0 mucks it up so much. I've tested again this morning and the compass is now perfectly fine under 5.1. Thanks v much for the link to the downgrade instructions .
     
  19. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
  20. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Bit too homebrew for me, I'd be too scared of bricking the thing. I'm sticking with 5.1 as I'm 100% happy with it.