Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not sure what just happened...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Michael Speziale, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. Michael Speziale

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    so I had a little time this morning and decided that it would be fun to go fly in a big field nearby and do some atti flying and test the autonomous modes before heading up to Vermont next week. I've never used the autonomous modes and didn't wanna be trying anything out for the first time in the moment, of course.

    So, I tried waypoints and follow me without fail the first time, flew around in P-GPS for a bit, then went back into F-mode and tried follow me again. This time, it went overhead and I moved the gimble down when it passed overhead. When I did that, the phantom turned around and went full-speed backwards towards a more distant treeline beyond the field I was in, and one it wasn't clear of. I hit it back into P-GPS, and it stopped right in place. I calibrated right before flying and it had 16 satellites, but I'm guessing it had nothing to do with gps since I saved it with P-GPS. Scared the crap out of me. It also wasn't a gust. I was flying in the stronger winds in atti just fine and even when I let control go it wasn't drifting nearly that fast - I was only about 60ft up. Flown here dozens of times. I DID just try to upgrade to the latest firmware, but my phantom said the version was the same that was already on it, just as it did last time.. My RC is up to date
     
    John Lo likes this.
  2. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    What were you using as your device connected to RC ?

    Loss of GPS signal or corrupt location reporting would do that.
     
  3. Michael Speziale

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    If it lost the GPS signal, switching back into P-GPS wouldn't have worked, though. It stopped right in place. And I was using an iPhone 6S Plus
     
  4. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    I do mean on the device not drone.

    The follow mode relies on a good gps home location.

    Best thing to do is upload your logs to healthy drones . com and see the track and the home point position, see if home jumps suddenly.
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    This seems to be a bug in the App.
     
  6. AHill

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    23
    When you were in follow me mode if the IPhone 6S lost GPS or gave an incorrect GPS location It would do as you described. The Phantom mounted GPS was always working correctly, that's why it stopped when you switched modes; it was no longer trying to go back to your phone.
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    No, its doing what supposed to do if it think the home position has moved in follow mode.

    The only way to see is look at the logs.
     
  8. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    This was also my first guess. It was returning to the last known home point when follow me was used previously.
     
  9. Michael Speziale

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    If my phone lost GPS though, why didn't the home position ever appear to change when I went through the flight log in real time on the DJI Go app? Either way, I gotta figure out how to get these logs off of my P3
     
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    OP turned the gimbal down during waypoint flying mode and P3 moved to a not previously used location. This is little confusing.

    Yes looking at the logs will give better idea about the probable cause of the issue.

    I normally don't move my gimbal during waypoint tracking, so thought it could be a glitch in the SW.
     
  11. Michael Speziale

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Also so everyone knows, it was heading to a point it had never been. It was going out over the hills in the opposite direction of the parking lot not back towards where I had ever been
     
  12. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    you can get them off your phone directly.

    connect to iTunes and goto iPhone with phone connected via lead in that, make sure phone is not in standby and scroll to bottom of page.

    you will see file sharing. select go app

    drag the whole flight logs directory to your desktop.

    from there you can upload to healthy drones
     
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Exactly that was one of my point to say it might be a SW glitch. Get logs out for analysis.
     
  14. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Remember you can only transfer when iPhone is active and not in standby.

    Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 17.25.56.png
     
  15. Michael Speziale

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the instruction :) I'll do that as soon as I can and upload to healthy drones