Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My Pictures are angled and I'm not sure why???!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Gonefishing51077, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    In the picture below you can see how it's not a level picture. I could not get it to level out while flying. I lowered the copter down to make sure the camera was level and it is. It has no tilt to it at all. It is odd that the prop guards showed up in the picture also. They were not showing up on the screen of my iPhone when I took the picture.

    Any suggestions on why this is happening?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    Did you try turning off "FPV Mode" in the "Setiings" section of the DJI Vision app?
     
  3. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    No sir I did not.
    How might that help?
     
  4. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just opened app and saw the FPV mode and the discription of what it does. Thank you I will try that.

    Will this fix the issue of seeing the prop guards in the picture even though it's not showing up on the iPhone?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    It's odd that you're not seeing the same thing as in the picture. It usually takes a few seconds to snap a photo, so perhaps the Phantom shifted a bit after you initiated the process to take the photo?

    If your camera is pointed in the full upright position, then try pointing it down slightly. That should get the props out of the picture.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If the camera is angled all the way up, any photo you take will show prop guards. The 14mpx camera is 4:3 and everytime you take photos, it will always use the entire sensor. Even if you have it on narrow, the photos will still be using the full sensor.
    There are 2 ways to remove the props - crop the photo to 16:9 or fly backwards and take photos at the same time.
     
  7. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    or you may have a loose shaft and needs to be readjusted and shaft permanently fixed back to the motor casing.
    let me know if you need help with this.

    hani
     
  8. johncocci

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Mako79 stated in photo mode you are taking a 4:3 aspect ratio photo but your view on the app is a16:9 ratio so you are not seeing the entire image for photos on the iPhone app. Wish there was a setting to change this.
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    And also, I would suggest removing the training wheel prop guards when you think you are ready..
    The prop guards seem to hinder the phantom. Many have had the dreaded VRS which causes the phantom to wobble and drop when descending straight down. This causes the phantom to lose "grip" of the air and slip into its own prop wash. The newer firmware have addressed this but i still wouldn't risk it.

    Also, when you change back to the non-prop guard mode, make sure you use the shorter CORRECT SCREWS. Many have made the mistake by using the long ones supplied with prop guards and damaging all 4 motors.
     
  10. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Have you set your video to record in narrow field of view? Because this is what shows on the screen, however photos capture at full screen.

    I always have video set to narrow (I prefer less fish eye) but when a friend asked me to take some photos of a property I framed up the shots in the normal way, getting everything just right and snapped away. When I got back home an looked at the images on a pc, they were far too far away - the screen was only showing the narrow field of view, while the camera was capturing everything. Does that make sense?

    It was easy to crop the pics down, but unnecessary.
     
  11. jadebox

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Oviedo, FL
    Back to the tilt ... if you are flying a Vision+, then it's probably because you have the FPV mode enabled as mentioned earlier. If you actually have the earlier, non-plus, version of the Phantom 2 Vision then the tilt is normal since it has a "1D" gimbal which doesn't correct for the 'copter's rolling motion.

    -- Roger
     
  12. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for the info guys. Im planning on testing out some of you suggestions this weekend.
     
  13. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Mine is a little like that (and my FPV is turned off) but not quite as dramatic. It definitely leans the same direction. I saw a post/thread somewhere about remounting the IMU to re-level it, but I'm not sure that explains this case (it may, I just don't know without a lot of thought).
     
  14. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    17
    Its called an advanced IMU calibration. You dont remount the IMU.... ;) If your Flight controller has come off your board than that is a different story.

    Most tilted gimbals are fixed with 2 things. An advanced IMU calibration or clocking the motor shaft and potentiometer level with the camera body, flat side up. ;)
     
  15. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    like i've said earlier, i think his motor shaft is off place but who listens to me? :lol:
     
  16. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What do you know, everything you do is based on a hunch... lol.
     
  17. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
    I agree. Camera is twisted on the shaft.

    Hunch is the expert. Let him fix it if at all possible. You can easily wreck your camera. I should know.. I'm the master of disaster when it comes to Camera wrecking.

    But this summer I was in rural Saskatchewan, Canada and had no options - not even mail service. So I fixed my own and made this little slide show.

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFxM8OOWRQc[/youtube]
     
  18. jadebox

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Oviedo, FL
    His camera appears to be aligned correctly with the 'copter (look at the props). But, it isn't adjusting for the roll of the 'copter.

    -- Roger
     
  19. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    if that's the case than he has a bad Roll potentiometer or something going on with the Roll sensor board that it is not compensating back.
    if he is not in the FPV mode of course.
     
  20. jgrouse

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I also have the same issue but to a smaller extent. The roll is out by about 3-5 deg and is more an irritation than a big issue. I would however like to fix it the same way as shown in the earlier video by grasping the roll shaft with pliers and twisting. However I have a newer model than the one pictured in that video and for some reason I'm finding it impossible to make it budge. Here is the slightly tilted shaft -
    [​IMG]
    And here is the difference on the front where the shaft attaches -
    [​IMG]
    As you can see they now have a steel disk that the shaft goes into and this makes it extra tight and impossible to move.
    If only there was some form of calibration on the gimbal I could apply or even just a basic roll offset setting to compensate for this manufacturing error?
    Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated.