Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional My drone thinks it's where it was last time I flew it and now I can't connect.

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Lukeofhazard, Sep 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Lukeofhazard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically what it says in the title, I was on a cross country trip and took my drone with me and got some cool footage in New Mexico, but now that I am home in Texas when I pull open the app it says I am here in Texas and that my phantom 3 is still in New Mexico even though it's literally right in front of me. Any idea how to fix it?
     
  2. dobmatt

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Compass calibration may help ... Caching the map via WiFi at start-up ... perhaps ...
     
  3. Lukeofhazard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't even let me do that
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Is your Phantom powered on with a good view of the sky?
    How many sats is it getting?
    Compass deals with direction - not location
     
  5. tberton

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have had problems in past, found out when everything else fails uninstall and re-install the app.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  6. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
  7. Lukeofhazard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, that's the issue, even though my phantom 3 is like two feet I front of me, it's GPS thinks it's in New Mexico and won't let me connect to fly it.
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Is your GPS working? (sounds like it isn't)
    How many sats does it show?
     
  9. Lukeofhazard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    0
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    There's your problem.
    Your GPS is not working and so is unable to update the Phantom's position.
    If your Phantom is outdoors with a good view of the sky, the GPS needs reconnecting or replacing.
     
  11. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    It the last view you had before you were disconnected.
    Is there a connection now between the drone and the RC (is the led green on the RC)?
    I would closed the app, remove the USB cable, turn of the drone and RC.
    Then power on the drone and RC. When the RC light is green connect the phone or tablet.
    Sometimes removing the SD card helps (I don't know why).