Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi - can I set my waypoints by flying to them manually?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by SpaceDan, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. SpaceDan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Instead of placing your waypoints on your tablet map or on your computer, can you fly to a waypoint, and press a button in the Litchi app to place a waypoint at that spot? Would be very useful. Thanks!
     
  2. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    In the Program settings, you can program either the C1 or C2 to set a Waypoint at Aircraft location. This will allow you to fly around and manually set waypoints at the aircraft location by pressing one of the buttons on the back of the R/C.
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes it is possible to set waypoints and POI by using C1, C2 button but it's better to plan out your mission offline and execute later. You will be able to plan out mission timings correctly and set the camera in much better way. But that's my choice. I see offline planning as one of the good feature of Litchi which is not available on P3
     
  4. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    I would agree...however it appears that the OP knows about that option, but for whatever reason has a need to set waypoints based on aircraft position. While he does not expound on the why, he does state that being able to do this would be very helpful. So why try to tell him that he's not doing it right...rather than simply answer his question? If no one had the need to do this then why did Litchi incorporate this option in their product?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Pete w

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am guessing that it has to do with video framing. As the phantom cameras have a fixed ie non zoom lens, you are stuck with what the lens gives you ie you cannot zoom unless you want to crop in ( which at 4 k is possible) . But it would be much better, to be able to get to the exact ultimate point for framing an object by moving in or away from the object. To do this you cannot cannot judge without having a prelim fpv run through. I think that being able to get the exact point where framing is best , would be great as a waypoint.
     
  6. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    Check the "Cookbook" at this page:

    Help - Litchi