Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

led sequence 4 green rapid flashing red

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Ejazzle, May 14, 2014.

  1. Ejazzle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone had the sequence 4 green flashes then rapid red flashing? This is after I do the compass dance. Does anyone know what this led sequence means? I let it sit for a couple minutes and still same sequence would persist.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    It probably means you are near an airport.
     
  3. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    It means you have less than 7 satellites acquired.
     
  4. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    WRONG the four slow greens are telling you that you have enough satellites and the rapid reds are telling you that you are in a restricted zone, read the manual if you don't believe me.
     
  5. Ejazzle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats weird is I have flown it in this same location numerous times and it has never done this before. Yes I am less than a mile away from Palm Beach International Airport
     
  6. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA

    I'm not going to get into a pissing match with you. It has been in my experience that when I get the color display as described by the OP, it is due to my Phantom acquiring less than 7 satellites. Once 7 is hit, the red flashing light goes away. If it drops below 7, the red flashing light returns. I know the actual number of satellites because I can see it through my IOSD as well as my iPad when the Ground Station is enabled.
     
  7. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Perhaps entertain my suggestion?
     
  8. Uncle Meat

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Prattville Alabama
    Did you recently upgrade to the latest version of Assist by chance? If so there's your answer...

    U.M.
     
  9. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you miss the bit where he said RAPID flashing red? Not slow flashing red (lack of satellites) Then his next post says he is within ONE mile of an INTERNATIONAL airport and you still think he's not got enough satellites, I give up :roll:
     
  10. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's probably very difficult for anyone to interpret "4 green then rapid red"...how many red flashes? What is the sequence of the four green? What's the timing between each set? If the OP could post a short video of the flashing sequence, this could be answered instantly.

    I'm inclined to agree with those saying this is the flight restriction sequence. Especially if it just started happening recently (by recently, did it just start once you updated to version 3.0 or 3.02 firmware)?
     
  11. wellroundedbill

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. I wanted to make this distinction. I can definitely tell it's not the lack of satellite red flash. It's a very rapid red flash in between the green slow flashes. I've owned my about a week and no matter where I take it I always get them.
     
  12. nintendrone64

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
  13. hjscm

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    well i can add that it is not a satellite issue for me and not being close to an airport. mine started doing the same thing a couple of weeks ago and i took it to my flying field which is about 35miles from an airport, because it was suggested that i was close to an airport. if you look at my other post i posted a video of the sequence. been in touch with the dealer and they have been in touch supposedly with dji. no resolution yet. i have been flying the phantoms here since they came out. i have 2 P2 non visions and only one is doing it. both on same firmware which is strange.
     
  14. peasap

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting this too. Got my phantom 2 yesterday. Started it up, did the compas calibration, then waited for it to acquire satellites. I got the 4 solid green and very fast flashing red. I do live within 5 miles of an air base so I'm wondering if that is it?
     
  15. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, that's the reason :D